24 Hours Facebook Free

I don’t remember the exact moment that I signed off and deleted my social media apps, but I know it was done by this time, yesterday.  So I’ve noticed a few things:

  • When it’s quiet, I’m still finding myself having political arguments in my head.  This morning, I was arguing with an imaginary foe about healthcare.
  • I spend a lot of time thinking about things I want to share on Facebook.
  • I’m feeling especially isolated, but I don’t really want to call anyone.  I mostly just want to hide out in my bedroom with the TV on, and Big Hero 6 playing in the background.
  • I deeply miss being a teacher, but what I miss is connecting with the students.  I love algebra, but I hated trying to teach it to a room full of squirrelly teenagers who are accustomed to instant entertainment, whenever and wherever they want it.  If I hadn’t been trying to teach them math, I have no doubt I could have kept control of the classroom while talking to students like they were real people.  But they weren’t paying me to treat them like people.  They were paying me to force algebra into their brains despite the fact that there is plenty of evidence suggesting that the brains of humans are not ready for algebra until as late as 25 years!

I started cleaning up the spare room, this morning.  It also happens to be the dog’s room.  They’re primarily outside dogs, but when the weather is bitter or there is thunder, lightening, or fireworks, they go into this spare room for the night.

Drew’s 22-year-old daughter is coming to stay with us for a few days as he goes in to surgery.  He is having a vertebrae in his neck removed and replaced with a titanium jack.  Since I am not comfortable driving at night, and he’ll be in the hospital for several days, he’s flying her out here to stay with me, to help me drive back and forth, and also because they miss each other.

I’m anxious about these coming weeks.  Drew is a bear when he’s in pain.  His daughter is kind of a spoiled brat, sometimes.  Most of the time I love her.  Sometimes, she can be kind of dramatic.  I don’t expect any major drama, but last time she was here, she insisted on going home early.

I’m just anxious, in general.

It’s infusion day.  The video below is basically what I do once per week.  This video is from 2012, so some things have changed.  For one, a week’s dose is $5000.  Also, it’s not hard to extract the medicine from the vile into the syringe if you have a spike with a vent in it.  I do, so it only takes me a minute or so to fill both syringes.  The entire process takes about three hours from prep to finish.  I even have a cute little fanny pack to carry the pump into the world if I have to run out, which I have not done, thus far, but may have to, today.  We’ll see.

 

Log in to write a note
August 6, 2019

I could never ever give my self any kind of needle…I cringe when thinking about how diabetics give themselves insulin everyday…..I take it it’s like second nature to you?

August 6, 2019

@jaythesmartone Drew has to give himself insulin every day.  He’s been doing it so long, it’s second nature to him.  I’ve only been doing these for a few months.  It’s not quite second nature, but the needles are fine enough that I just grit my teeth and get it done.  It beats the alternative, which is being hospitalized regularly with various infections.

August 6, 2019

@oniongirl oh okay…..question?  My Aunt goes for “infusions” every year is that the same thing?

August 6, 2019

I am thinking of doing the same with social media.

August 6, 2019

@catholicchristian, I don’t intend to give it up completely.  I’m just taking a break, and removing temptation.  Too much hostility and distorted information.

August 6, 2019

Your doing good on the social media thing. My brother does the break thing ever so often.

I use to teach as well. I taught adults though. But some of them just coming out of high school still had that mentality.

Ouch. I’m not sure I could do that. Although I know if I had to i would.

August 6, 2019

@thespiritwithinme I’ve taught adult education.  It can be a struggle.  Especially with mobile phone addiction.

I didn’t think I’d be able to do it, either, but it’s really not as bad as it appears.  Once it punctures the surface of the skin, it slides in like nothing.

August 6, 2019

I hope that Drew’s surgery goes well, and that you have a nice time with his daughter staying over.

August 6, 2019

@justamillennial Thanks.  I really like his doctor, so I’m confident that the surgery will go as planned.  It will be nice when he no longer needs opioid pain relievers.
His daughter and I get along pretty well.  I think it will be fine.

August 6, 2019

So as I’ve said I do the Facebook cleanse type thing often. The first few times, I would struggle. I would worry about what I’m missing out on and I’d want to go and check. I’d deal with a lot of the stuff you mentioned. But after a few days, you stop thinking about it, because I will usually have found something else to focus my attention on. The first time, I just wanted a few days away and then it turned into weeks. Then even when I get back, it’s a very different experience. Now I can deactivate and it’s no problem. I don’t even think about it. Facebook trains us to be a certain way and it’s bad for us. At least that’s how I view it. So anyway, my point is that I think it’ll get better. But also, if you need to talk. Send me an e-mail and we can chat and talk about whatever. You can even email me and describe your thoughts on um…. your favorite type of pen. Actually, education is a favorite topic of mine. I have several friends who are teachers and I ask so many questions. Education is one of those topics that is important to me. I get worked up about funding and all that. Okay, I’m rambling.

I watched the video, I can’t believe you do that once a week and that it’s $5000. I would hope insurance helps with that. Are there side effects? Do you feel awful afterwards?

August 6, 2019

Oh, I forgot to say that I hope the surgery goes well for Drew and that things go well with his daughter around.

August 6, 2019

@heffay, fortuntely, insurance does help with it.  Our annual copay is around $3000, and with my immunity issues, and his back and diabetes, we meet the max out of pocket, every year.

I used to feel awful after my infusions.  When Drew was finally able to get me on his insurance, they switched me to a different specialty pharmacy.  I went from infusing once per month, to infusing once per week.  Now that I do them weekly, I really don’t notice any significant side effects.  I get a little sleepy, but that’s likely due to the Benedryl I’m supposed to take before the infusion.
I wrote a diatribe when I quit teaching for a while.  I’ll email it to you.  That’ll be a good launching spot for a conversation.  😉

August 6, 2019

@heffay and I’m sure the surgery and visit will go fine.  Thank you.

August 6, 2019

@oniongirl I’m glad to hear that you’ve got it worked out how you do. I hate the idea of people who need that and can’t afford the medicine.

I look forward to the email