A Little Time Travel

My mother gave me this letter on Christmas.  It’s from my great-grandma to my great-grandpa, while they were still courting.  I’ve transcribed it, the best I can, but some of it was lost in the creases.  I have placed _____ in places in which I have no idea what was written there.  Also, my grandma was apparently allergic to question marks, so if you see them in this transcription, it’s because I wasn’t sure if what I wrote was correct.


Afton, Okla.
Feb 3, 1926

Dear Boy,
How are you? Did you ge that letter I sent off Mon. You said you wanted me to write to you twice so I had to send one Mon. So you would get it and this one before Sun. Come to the pie supper Sat. night if you can. I am sure we would get the pickles are you.
It is too bad we are the only ones that need them.
I am staying in at recess to write. They are four boys in here. They had to stay in because they did not mind Miss Mary. They are as mean as they can be. Scott Myers set the alarm and it went off. Maby you can come to the pie supper come if you can. If you can’t come Sun. write and tell me the reason. Jim never said anything to be about coming home late. But Mamma said he was a little3 peeved when he had to milk. But that don’t hurt him of course. You should see this wonderful fountain pen of mine I gave 2 1/2 cents for it i got it from Orvill’s(?). I say it is a grand one. What did Delphine say about you going home and not taking her. Did you explain to Mrs. Ellis why you got home so late? I guess you got home all right didn’t you. I was afraid you might hit some one or ditch yourself. It is a wonder you don’t get bathe/bothe(?) They teased me lots and I will tell you what they said next time I see you. I know you will laugh when you hear it for it is real funny. I know you will laugh. If you are not peeved about something. It is books now. she said just now we were going to have a valentine box. And draw names. I got Clinton Boyde. I may trade a dozen times you know valentines day is the 14th of Feb. Well I guess I will hafto close school is about out hoping to see you soon. by by. Come ot the pie supper if you ____
Stay until Sun night. And longer if possible.

Lonesome girl,
Zelma Berry

P.S. Don’t forget about it. excuse writing ___ink everywhere. __ pen leaks.


There is a part of me that got lost in this letter.  I found myself trying to predict what would come next, like I do when reading fiction.  Will he write back?  Will he break her heart?  They married three weeks after the date of this letter.  She was 14.  He was 21.  They had two daughters, Wanda and Virginia.  Virginia was my mother’s mother.

Log in to write a note
January 5, 2021

How sweet and simple. Thank you for sharing it with us!

January 5, 2021

Oh no, I didn’t notice the ages when I was looking it up. I think the letter is nice. Not sure how to feel about the age stuff.

January 5, 2021

wow this letter is in pretty good condition….Is this the only one you have?

January 5, 2021

@jaythesmartone Yes.  My mom gave it to me for Christmas.

January 5, 2021

@oniongirl

I wonder if it can be framed? I bet it would look really cool on the wall somewhere in your home?

January 6, 2021

@jaythesmartone It’s one sheet of paper, front and back.

 

January 6, 2021

@oniongirl

so cool…maybe phot copy the second page and hang them side by side?

January 5, 2021

This is so priceless! 🙂