A Minor Meltdown

I just need to rant for a moment.  My mother has given birth to four children – two boys and two girls.  Her girls are smart and independent.  Her boys are smart but don’t demonstrate it and are always needing help from outside sources.

I’ve been marveling, lately, that my mother has jumped on the Trump bandwagon.  It’s so strange for her to even be involved in politics.  But for her to get behind a man who is so blatantly racist and misogynistic…. it just does not compute.  I want to scream at her, “Do you realize you’re supporting the candidate that my brothers support?  And then last night, Kanye went on a rant on SNL.  Now my mind is further blown.

Mama, you’re supporting a man that Ed, Ira, and Kanye think is a good idea.  Doesn’t that strike you as off?  Ira once thought it would be a good idea to pour gasoline all over himself and my sister and try to light a match.  Ed used to tell us stories about his best friend who is half ghost.  Kanye thinks he’s God.  Are these really the people whose political ideals you want to follow?

Who are you?  Where is the woman who taught me about feminism and equality and that no person is better than anyone else?  You post anti-liberal propaganda, and yet you used to be the most liberal person I know.  I don’t know you anymore.   Is 66 old enough to be experiencing dementia?  That’s the only thing that can explain this.

I love you so much, but I feel like we’re losing you.

Log in to write a note
September 30, 2018

Hunni, I am so sorry that this is happening and you have to watch it unfold. This may be a stupid question, but have you tried sitting down with her and asking her what is going on? I am not a very political person, so I don’t really ever know what is going on.. and yes I do realize how bad that is.. but the news makes me so sad.. I try to avoid it the best way that I can. My dad always says “That’s what’s wrong with your generation!” And while that may be the truth but it’s my choice. I hope you find some peace with this.

September 30, 2018

Have you ever asked your mom why she supports trump?  Is It because he is such a good business man or is it because he treates his family with repsct and loves them?  The only thing I have ever said was I think trump was a great business man till he went into bankruptsy.

September 30, 2018

It is very annoying when close family supports Trump.  My younger sister and my uncle are both supporters and it makes me nuts at time.  My other uncle will spend hours refuting everything the Trump supporting uncle has to say.   I honestly just let it go and try not to let it bother me.  It’s really hard, especially with my sister since we are so close, but not worth stressing out and ruining a relationship over like my 2 uncles have done.

September 30, 2018

I’m so sorry. I think sitting down with her and hearing her thoughts is a good idea. I imagine you will end up making a hard rule that the two of you don’t talk about it, but that might be wrong. Maybe she has some other issues that could be addressed. I’m 66. I notice I can’t remember people’s names sometimes. But I don’t support trump or any of the current GOP!

October 5, 2018

I am so sorry. I wonder – not just about your mom but in general – if it is some kind of emotional mob mentality which strikes? People want something to be passionate about, to be able to blame all their problems on and Trump is all about fear and blame.

October 14, 2018

I’m so sorry about everything that’s going on with your mom supporting Trump *hugs*.