Anxiety Poetry

It’s 4:30 AM, and I’m awake with anxiety. 

I’ve been awake since 2:30.  

My mouth and throat are so dry that when I swallow, everything sticks to everything else.  And yes, I keep water next to the bed.

I want to pack up my loved ones and set out on an adventure to a new planet not infested with greed, hate, and cruelty; one in which when one cannot eat, no one eats; one in which when one is sick, we all work a little harder so that the absence in her place in the clockwork is barely noticeable and the cost of the cure is simply recovering.  

I want to live in a world in which all realize that the value of each individual human is immeasurable.  My stories are just as important to our ability to function as a society as her ability to grow food, or his ability to start a fire, but we all pitch in at the harvest.  I want “enough” to be plenty for anyone, and for each of us to rejoice in the knowledge that no one suffers unnecessarily.  

 

Log in to write a note
August 4, 2019

If you find this kind of world before me I will go with you…..I wish more people wanted the same things you and I want…..

August 4, 2019

Wouldn’t such a world be an amazing place?

August 4, 2019

I cannot LOVE this post enough! This cruel world… it really drains me as well *hugs*

August 4, 2019

I’m not a huge Star Trek person, but I got into Star Trek: The Next Generation and I was fascinated when they described that earth society had evolved to the point where money was a thing of the past.  I like it because everyone gets to be doing what makes them happy, and everyone gets great treatment for whatever is wrong. And they’re out trying to promote peace. That’s what I think about.

I would like to in the world that you described. It sounds wonderful.

I’m sorry you were up with anxiety, that’s never fun. I hope you got back to sleep for a little bit, at least.

August 4, 2019

Hope you were able to get some sleep last night.

Living in a world like that would be complete bliss.