Be Careful What You Wish For

A friend posted an article about Trump at Mt. Rushmore calling those who don’t support him “evil.”  So many of her friends were commenting how they can’t believe that so many people follow him. 
It’s not hard for me to imagine at all.  Look at who his most vocal supporters are: so called “Evangelical Christians.” Having once been a member of that community, this is absolutely in line with how they think.
These people are willing to believe that Satan has placed dinosaur bones all over the planet just to deceive us into believing anything other than their warped interpretation of the Bible.  No.  God created the world in seven days.  Period.  Which is not even Biblical, because the Bible says he created it in six days and on the seventh day he rested.  But I digress.
I was fifteen when I was pulled into that community. My home life was absolute chaos. My parents were using and dealing meth from our home. Violence was a regular occurrence.  My first boyfriend had just broken my heart, and I was desperate for a place to feel valued.  They gave me that.
They also gave me a tremendous sense of self-loathing:  I was illegitimate.  I was female.  I had a body that attracted unwelcome attention.  My virginity was my most precious asset, so once I give that up, what am I?
That community is obsessed with End Times. We were constantly bombarded with Rapture theology. Between what was going on at home, and my inability to wrap the brain they claimed God gave me around the nonsense that they insisted that I needed to believe to avoid being left behind and suffering thousands of years of torment, I began having full-fledged panic attacks. I couldn’t sleep. I’d worry myself into vomiting.  There was a constant sense of doom lurking.
When you believe something like that is possible, all signs point to it being true.
When I finally broke down in a youth group meeting and, sobbing, admitted all of my fears and doubts, I was told that I was “demon oppressed.” Satan was attacking me because I was such a strong voice for Jesus.
Whether he believes it or not, Trump is singing their favorite song. At this point, I wish the rapture would come and take them away.  As contradictory and ignorant as it may seem, while they claim to want Jesus to return, their survival instincts make them fight to keep it from happening.  They view anything that opposes Trump as signs of the apocalypse.  Therefore, those of us who desperately want that parasite out of office are, in their minds, agents of Satan.
I hope and pray that we get him out of office.  If it weren’t completely blasphemous, I would pray for him to choke on his Big Mac, but not only would that be disappointing to my whole philosophy of existence, but his zealots would believe it was some sort of Liberal operation.    I don’t know how this can be reversed.
Drew gets angry with me when I compare Trump to Hitler, but I don’t really think it’s that far-fetched.  It took a world war to defeat Hitler and silence the voices that profited off of him.  We know what World War would look like, today.
This makes me tired.  I’m sure there are typos, but I don’t have the energy to proof read, now.
Log in to write a note
July 5, 2020

My oldest used to lecture me on NOT comparing him to Hitler… he’s singing a different tune now… we already have concentration camps for children… where they may not be gassed to death but they are neglected to death. His emblem is almost identical to the 3rd reich’s… it’s real and denial wont make it not real.

I was an evangelical for about 18 months until I finally listened to myself tell a friend who had had her baby aborted by a faked appendectomy that her mother set up (she had been drugged and taken to the ER and aborted under the guise of appendicitis) “I’ll pray for you”… smug smug smug. And if you are damned by God according to them… it is ETERNAL… not thousands of years… eternal. No reboot. No “I take it back”. DONE. Ugly beliefs. shudder.

July 5, 2020

Religion is evil.

July 5, 2020

I think the best thing that can happen to trump is that everything he said wasn’t true would bite him in the face and then he would be deformed and then I wonder if he would change his tune?  All we can hope for is the people who voted for him will see the light at the end of the tunnel and then they can get re-educated and be one of the smart ones like us?

July 5, 2020

I am with you on all that you wrote. I’ve already called him the antichrist. He is one sick puppy with a following. I pray with everything inside of me he gets voted out. O wouldnt mind finding him in jail as well.

August 1, 2020

I had no idea that evangelical Christians felt that way about Trump being in office, but it makes sense.

I agree that Trump and Hitler share many things in common.