Don’t Forget the Families

Another Veteran’s day.  Every year we are told that we should be grateful for the men and women who serve because without them, we would have no freedom.

I can’t remember a time when military was not a part of my life.  My uncles, who were more like big brothers to me, were in the Army and Navy.  My mom’s first husband was in the Air Force.  His brothers were in all branches of the military, and from the ages of five to almost 12, we lived the life of a military family, moving far from loved ones, and having to move again, just as I was beginning to make friends.

Drew’s son was in Iraq.

I have former classmates and former students who have served, and some who still do.

It isn’t just the enlisted who sacrifice.  It’s the parents worrying about their son or daughter.  It’s the spouses worried about their partners.  It’s the kids, who don’t really understand why daddy or mommy is away, but they know the ache of missing them.

For these reasons, I honor veterans and their families, not just today, but every day.

But can we please stop pretending that war and our military are about our freedom?  We haven’t fought for our country’s freedom since 1945.  Everything since has been an opportunity for politicians to line their pockets.

Log in to write a note
November 12, 2022

yep. Fighting for oil wells. Fighting for rich politicos to get richer off our grief. My older sons were conscientious objectors. They would have opted for prison time rather than carrying on war.

November 13, 2022

I agree

November 15, 2022

Many of my family members serve(d) in the military.  My son is in the Air Force.  I think about him every day, not just Veteran’s Day.  I honor him and his life choice every day.  And…  I pray for him every day.  It’s the best any of us can do.

November 18, 2022

My dad was a WWII veteran. My uncle served in Korea. A few of my peers were drafted into the War in Viet Nam. I marched against that war. I agree, the wars since 1945 are not about freedom.  I don’t know if you remember this woman Cindy Sheehan, who camped near then President Bush’s ranch during the Iraq war because her son was killed in that war.  I have 3 sons and I am so thankful none of them went to war. When you think about the families….my mother lived at home during WWII and she says everything was for the war effort; the rationing of goods. Part of their English class was to write to soldiers in Germany.