Hard Conversations

Drew and I had to have a hard talk on Tuesday.  In four years together, we’ve only had one other.  Last time, he initiated it.  This time, it was me.
He has serious spine issues.  Next month, he’ll be having a vertebrae removed and replaced with a titanium jack.  The pain makes him understandably grouchy.  The problem is that he’s begun having these angry outbursts of yelling and cursing and flailing his arms.  He has no particular target, but it’s stressful to listen to.

On top of this, I’ve been sick again.  I’m feeling a lot better, today, but definitely not 100%, yet.  When I’m sick like this, I can’t do much of anything.  Yesterday, I woke up feeling pretty good.  I was going to shower, then maybe go play a little Wizards Unite.  After the shower, I needed to rest for a while.  I finally  managed to put my clothes on, but that was it for me for the rest of the day.

So back to Tuesday: Drew works for an international company whose primary product involves information technology.  You’d think that a company like that would have a pretty extensive IT department for its engineers, architects, and sales people.  They don’t.  They outsource.  To India.  And they have the crappiest network you could imagine.  He’s always fighting to get online, get drivers installed, blah, blah, blah.  They tightly regulate permissions on his laptop.  Seriously: he can’t even change the wallpaper on his laptop.

As he fights with his laptop, he begins swearing.  “Fuck!”  I say it sometimes.  I’m not a prude.  But as he gets more and more frustrated, he gets louder and the words feel more violent.

 

And I begin to have

_____________________________

Tuesday, it just came to a head.  I began to have a panic attack.  My hands were shaking.  My heart was racing.  I can’t be around this kind of unchecked anger.  It triggers me.  He gets like this, in traffic, too.  He’s always so worried about the way others drive, even if it doesn’t affect us in the least.

So after he finally got online, had his meeting, got the loose ends tied up, he came out to sit down and relax a minute.  I told him we needed to talk and it was serious.

Between my being sick and being emotional due to peri-menopause, my hands were trembling and I was trying hard not to cry.  I explained that I understand his frustration, but I have no where to go to get away from it when he gets like that.  I told him that aside from the fact that the anger triggers me, because I’m unable to work and completely dependent on him, when he gets so frustrated like that, I’m afraid he’d just quit, and I’m not used to not having a back up plan.

I spilled it all out, and he listened and apologized multiple times.  I told him that I didn’t want him to apologize, because I know that it’s not directed at me, but that I need it to stop.  He said he understood.  He told me he loves me.  He told me that he wasn’t hurt or mad at me for talking to him about it, and that he was glad that I had.

And now you can see why I love this man.

Log in to write a note
July 11, 2019

He is such a sweetheart….you are very lucky to have him…..The one suggestion I do have is when he does get like that just think of it as a business thing and you have nothing to do with it?  maybe that will help you realize it’s about a machine and not you?

July 11, 2019

@jaythesmartone I know it’s not about me.  But I grew up in a home with lots of screaming and swearing.  I married a man who screamed and cursed.  My last significant relationship was like that.  I have years of defense mechanisms built in.  They run much deeper than just telling myself he’s not yelling at me.

July 11, 2019

PTSD cannot be reasoned with unfortunately. Triggers are real and not negotiable. Hug

July 11, 2019

I’m glad that you have someone like Drew. We all get a little frustrated sometimes, with life.

I heard that this has to do with the fact that we have a limbic system, which kind of acts like a filter — a lot of the things that stress us out get routed to our brain stem, causing us to use our survival instinct. Prehistorically, this helped us deal with dangers, like an angry grizzly bear or lion chasing us, but this is no longer required anymore. When we’re using our brain stem, we miss out on getting to use the problem-solving creative part of our brain, and this is really why we get frustrated and angry.

While I know that someone yelling and screaming, even if it’s not targeted at you, can be stressful, maybe when he gets like that you can try talking to him, and help him work out what he can do to get himself feeling better. This might help him relax, and create a better living environment, for you both, while strengthening your relationship.

July 11, 2019

@justamillennial I think I just needed him to understand the effect it was having on me.  He’s been better since.

July 11, 2019

I’m glad you guys had a good talk about it. I can see why that behavior would cause you some issues. I hope that things change for the better

July 11, 2019

@heffay They already are.

July 11, 2019

I also see why he loves you. Such a pretty couple.

July 11, 2019

@ipsofacto Thank you.  💖

July 11, 2019

He’s a real keeper. You know the surgery hanging over his head has got to be scary for him. The pain frustrates. Your health scares him. He’s just really needing a safe place to vent is my bet. Someone he can go dump it all out on so he can breathe again.