I am Fully Exhausted

If I didn’t fully appreciate Drew for all that he’s done to care for me since I had encephalitis in December, 2017, his spine surgery has certainly corrected that.

We have stairs in our house.  I usually carry a bag upstairs with me, so that I can carry everything I might need for the day down with me in the morning.  I do the same during the day.  The goal is to only have to climb the stairs once per day.  If there is something heavy or requiring two hands, it is Drew who usually carries it up for me.  He can’t do that right now, because of his surgery.  He tried to help me put dishes away.  He raised both hands over his head and heard a loud pop, since then all his healing progress seems to have come undone.  The X-Rays say everything looks find, and the doctor says he probably popped a suture inside.  But now he’s not allowed to reach up over his head or lift more than 5 lbs, and he’ll have to do physical therapy.

Our house is built on a hill, so while the front has three or four steps to the front door, there is a full flight of stairs down to the yard from the back porch.  It’s a nice, large, screened in porch.  We have senior dogs.  They’ll be 11 in December.  One of them is struggling to climb the stairs at mealtimes.

So, while recovering from my own crazy health issues, I’m doing all the cooking, cleaning, shopping, and caring for the animals and my man.  On the one hand, I’m super proud of myself, because I’ve never been this diligent about keeping my house clean, before.  On the other hand, I’m sleeping until noon, and until 4:00 one day.  I don’t like that.

My health is holding up, so far, but I find myself struggling to breathe now and then.

So that’s why there hasn’t been much in the way of updates from  me.  I have several drafts started, but I’m never quite able to finish them.

Here are Drew’s x-rays, if you’re curious.

Log in to write a note
September 9, 2019

Oh I love xrays. I made them give me copies of all my xrays when I broke my foot. I can see why you’re exhausted though. Sounds tiring. You guys need someone around to help. How long until Drew is going to be back to normal?

The story reminded me of my brother in law and sister. They lived here, but they had gone to Atlanta so that my brother in law could donate a kidney to a friend. When they left, he still couldn’t carry anything heavy, like Drew. So my sister had to carry all these suitcases and dealing the kids. They talked about how he probably looked like the biggest jerk.

Hope Drew recovers quickly and that you continue to do well taking care of things.

September 9, 2019

Sounds like it would be exhausting but it sounds like you are holding up.

Ouch on the Drew thing. I couldn’t even begin to imagine what he is going through. How long to they think it will take for him to be close to normal again?

September 10, 2019

Sorry to hear about Drew not healing as progressively as he should be. Hopefully the physical therapy will help him, even though physical therapy sucks.

I really wouldn’t hold it against yourself that you’re sleeping in so late, it sounds like you have a lot to do.

September 10, 2019

Question? Whe drew fully recovers will he be back to his “normal” self?