I Am the Mountain

I wrote this poem in college after taking an environmental geology class. Specifically, we were studying the ways in which people have tried to build homes on volcanoes and subvert the lava flow.   I was also at a point in life where I was so resentful of the Patriarchy that I felt that my skin was raw.

I think it is particularly appropriate today.

 

I Am the Mountain
by Jenna Roberts

“Because she was there,” he proclaimed with a grin,
As he raised his eyes to her crest.
“I am the first to plant my flag,”
He boasted, beating his breast.

But he was not the first and he shan’t be last
To claim the conquest of my kind;
And I had a secret he was yet to know
But one he was fated to find.

I am the mountain in all her grace,
And I let him have his way.
But he thought he could tame my wild game,
And he cut my flora away.

He laughed when I rumbled; he shrugged when I shook.
He thought he had mastered me.
For he knew nothing of the fire inside,
That soon I’d make him see:

I am the mountain with heart aflame,
And I held him in my hand
While he looked around, the feeble soul,
And tried to claim my land.

He tried to name me after him.
He built his house on me.
But when he crowned himself my king,
I made him bow to me.

My rumble turned to a thunderous roar.
My gentle shake turned violent.
And there on his land, my master stood,
Suddenly pale and silent.

Then he begged and bargained with me,
As any monarch would.
But I am the mountain, merciless,
And I crushed him where he stood.

And I left no trace of that mighty man,
Nor the ones who’d come before.
But I don’t pretend this is the end,
For there are always more.

I used to perform this and others at renaissance faire.  💖

Log in to write a note
October 14, 2018

I love the poem. I kind of view it as a poem about sexual assault in some ways, too, but that would give the second and last snippets a really dark twist.