Ignore Me. I’m Whiny

From Friday to now, this weekend has been mostly shit.
Early Friday morning, I’d gotten up to pee.  My head was spinning in the familiar “oh shit, I’m sick,” way, and I felt nauseated.  I used the bathroom, then went back to sleep.  The next time I woke, it was with chills.  My temperature was 101.6 (I keep a thermometer and a pulse-oximeter next to the bed) and my oxygen was down in the 80s despite the fact that I wear oxygen to bed.  The low oxygen is new, but the rest are all classic symptoms of UTI for me.

My doctor has given me standby prescriptions of antibiotics because I get these so frequently, but when I went to put in an order, the CVS app said it would require renewal.  It was 7:00ish on a Friday morning, and I was worried that I might not be able to get the authorization until Monday, and could end up in the hospital.  I dashed off an email to my urologist, and began to chew my nails.

I didn’t want to worry Drew.  He was due to leave for London that afternoon, and I knew he’d be completely stressed about leaving me sick.  But when I took my temperature, he got suspicious, so I told him how I was feeling.

Fortunately, my urologist is awesome!  Before their office had even opened for the morning, she had sent in the refill and CVS listed it as in-progress.  I had brought home a spare specimen cup from my last trip to the lab (she has also put in a standing order for lab work for me).  So I took a shower, produced a specimen, and then went to pour it into the cup.  But I splashed some of it on myself in the process.  *sigh*

While Drew stayed home to pack and prep for his trip, I drove the specimen to the lab and picked up my prescription.  I took the prescription immediately.  When I got home, I told Drew that I was going back to bed, and he came with me.

I dozed in and out for a couple of hours, and when I woke up, I felt a little better.  My temp was down and my oxygen was normal.  Drew ran off to the airport, and I slept on and off for the rest of the day.  He got to London around 2:00 AM, my time.  He sent me a text, and it woke me up.  A couple of hours later, he sent me another message to tell me that they’d lost his luggage.

He left for London on Friday so that he could have the weekend for sightseeing before the work week began.  Without his luggage, even with Delta offering to pay for replacement clothes, he’d have spent his whole weekend just trying to replace what he’d brought.

While all of this was happening, I have been exhausted, fighting off this infection.  I’m lonely, because I don’t have any family locally whose sofa I could go crash on if I wanted.

So I spent too much time on Facebook, and was told by two women in a Herpes support group that the information my neurologist gave me when I had encephalitis was wrong, because they got their information from an RN on the Internet.  I got much to annoyed by this, and argued far longer than it deserved.

Then there was a shooting at a Walmart in El Paso, and the usual political grandstanding on both sides of the gun debate.  As I wrote at 4:30 this morning, I had anxiety in the night.  When I was finally able to sleep, I’d had a horrible dream, with various parts, including one in which my teddy bear (no, I don’t sleep with a teddy bear; it was one a high school boyfriend had given me; now I sleep with a blue elephant… oh, and Drew, when he’s home).  So anyway, my teddy bear was making a strange noise, and I found that a tiny blue lizard had managed to wiggle into my bear and was now living there.  There was another part of the dream that was so disturbing, I can’t even bring myself to recount it.  It was the kind of dream that took a bit to sink in when I woke that it had only been a dream.

So I got up, and started my Sunday morning ritual.  Sorted my meds for the week.  Headed downstairs to take care of the animals, and then learned that there had been another mass shooting, this time in Dayton.

Drew is what I would call extremely pro-second amendment.  I support the second amendment, too, but I understand where those who are lobbying for tighter controls are coming from.  The only times we have ever raised our voices to each other have been in discussions about the gun lobby.  So the news of these shootings has elevated my anxiety because I know that when he gets home and hears all about it, there will be a hubbub.

I have tried to keep myself occupied, today, but my mind just keeps going back to all the yuckiness that has transpired over the past few days.

I warned you that you shouldn’t read this one.  I’m just rambling and whining.  I do feel like I’m getting better, but I still feel run down.

Log in to write a note
August 4, 2019

Oh man, I totally regret reading this entry. I need these minutes back. I’m kidding. Whine and complain all you want. If I had experienced your weekend, I’d be whiny as well.

Online arguments are just… I can’t get into them because it becomes just a massive waste of time. No one changes their mind, they just get angry and what not. Waste of energy.

Speaking of Facebook, mine is deactivated currently, which I warned you about.

I hope you start feeling better.

August 4, 2019

@heffay, I’m feeling tired, but otherwise good.  Thanks.  💝💖

August 5, 2019

That would suck so bad to lose your luggage. Poor guy. I couldn’t imagine.

I hate dreams that screw with the mind. Sometimes they are hard to shake off.

Hope you are feeling better. That is great you have a wonderful doctor. I don’t think I would be so lucky.

Not a whiney entry. Just stating the facts.

Get some rest.

August 5, 2019

@thespiritwithinme, I’ve gotten a little bit of rest.  I’m going to try avoiding caffeine, today, and see if that helps.  I never sleep well when Drew travels.  💝

August 5, 2019

Question?  What is your thought about people using rifles to shoot people or just to carry around like a 22 or a 9 ml?  I have no issues with guns if you are licenced and follow the rules it’s when you start to carry them around on your person that I have issues…especially if you have medical issues then I worry.  I am so glad that Canada has really strict gun laws.

August 5, 2019

You are sick. Living in the El Paso area, this shooting wasn’t even really a gun control fight. He shouldn’t have had that gun but this was a racist mess. Capitol murder charges will settle his hash.

August 5, 2019

Sorry to hear that your weekend sucked. Hopefully you’ll be feeling better soon.