Maybe I’ll Always Feel this Way…

The anniversary of Dave’s suicide is on the horizon.  I wasn’t even thinking about that until I started writing this.  What caused me to start writing this will probably sound bizarre: advertisements for the reboot of the series “Mad About You,” on Spectrum, the cable company to which we subscribe.

I had completely put this series out of my mind.  I was never a fan, but I had seen an episode here and there.  This series and the movie “Jerry McGuire” take me right back to the last moments of our marriage and trigger serious anxiety.

Dave was falling apart.  He had worked at Target for 10 years, and gone to school become a medical records tech and transcriptionist.  He got a job at a hospital doing receiving, which is what he had done at Target, but he was such an absolute control freak that he could not handle being told how to do things.  He would come home a trembling mess, swearing and throwing things.  If I hadn’t been so frustrated and ready to be done with our marriage I would have felt sorry for him.  In retrospect, I do feel sorry for him now.

Maybe that’s the thing.  Now I understand anxiety and depression and now I recognize that he was legitimately obsessive compulsive.  Those topics were barely discussed back then, and the Internet was in its infancy.

Back then, I just felt angry, frustrated, guilty and ashamed.  I knew I didn’t want to be married to him anymore, but I didn’t understand why.

So how do “Mad About You” and “Jerry McGuire” come into play?  Dave and I watched Jerry McGuire together.  In the “You had me at ‘hello'” scene, Dave burst into sobs and said, “I just want my wife back.”  His face was twisted in agony, and he cried.  His beautiful upper lip disappeared.  Dave was not a crying man.

In Mad About You, there was an episode in which the wife kisses her boss.  I didn’t watch it because I didn’t like the show, but Dave begged me to watch that episode, which he had recorded.

All of this was breaking my heart for him, but I also felt like I was suffocating.  I kind of felt like it was either him or me.  I chose me.

And now I have been sentenced to a life of guilt, no matter how many times I am told by counselors, friends, family, and myself that what he did was his choice.

If you have ever seriously considered suicide (I have) please know that it is something that will forever mark the survivors.

Log in to write a note
September 19, 2019

I’m sorry you carry this. And you’re right. Those left behind never forget. Sadly, those committing suicide aren’t worried about that part of the story. Hang in there…

September 19, 2019

Hugs have you tried to celebrate him? I know it sounds weird but perhaps if you celebrate the fact that when it was good it was good and when it was horrible it was mental illness and not someone’s fault. Maybe it would help you? Anniversary reactions suck.

September 19, 2019

I don’t think you should feel guilty, though I know you will continue. You seem like the type of person that, no matter how things were better you two, if you knew things were that bad, you’d have tried to help.

September 19, 2019

So sorry you carry this with you. My daughter goes through this as well. Her father (my first husband) committed suicide a year and a half ago. She struggles with it and at times feels like she failed him. I hope you find peace.

September 19, 2019

I’m so sorry that you have to go through this.