My Body has a Wicked Sense of Humor

On Friday I wrote about the fact that I’ve missed a few periods, and took a pregnancy test to verify what I already knew.  I’m not pregnant.  I am in peri-menopause.

As I mentioned, I expected to be relieved, but instead felt a sense of loss.

I wasn’t sure that I wanted to tell Drew, but when I spoke to him on Saturday, I got emotional, and he asked what was going on.  I explained it the best I could, and tried to explain that I would not have a baby at this point in my life on purpose, but I still felt sad.

Wonderful as he always is, he apologized for not being home with me.  I told him that he takes care of us, and I don’t want him to feel bad.  He got on the plane to come home that night, as was the schedule.

In total, he was gone for 15 days, with a break of a few hours on the Thursday before last, when he came home from Phoenix, packed for the next trip, then left for Singapore.  He got home at about 11:30, Sunday morning.

I had gotten up early, to feed the dogs, and shower.  By the time he got home, I knew he’d be exhausted from more than 26 hours of travel, so I waited for him in bed.  I may or may not have been wearing something provocative.  We hugged and kissed and made up for some lost time, and then we snuggled for a while until he passed out from exhaustion.

When I got up to use the bathroom, I had started my period in grand style! I thought it was possible that the blood was due to the sex, but the bleeding continues.

So, to summarize, no period for three months.  Negative pregnancy test.  Drew comes home from a long 2 weeks of business travel, and we’re both in the mood to play. Play is cut short because Drew is exhausted.  Before he wakes, I  learn that the playground is closed for monthly maintenance, and by the time it’s back open, he’ll be in London for 8 days.

My body has a wicked sense of humor.  😈

 

Log in to write a note
July 29, 2019

I like your sense of humor…you can always make me smile just by typing a few words…..

July 30, 2019

@jaythesmartone thank you.  I always appreciate your comments.

July 29, 2019

Peri-menopause is an interesting and difficult time to be at in your life. That’s kind of funny how you skipped your period for three months, and then when Drew comes home… you find that your menstruating. At least you won’t have to worry about your period ruining things like that for you soon, with entering menopause.

July 29, 2019

I had to google perimenopause because… I’m male, I have a lot to learn about what all goes on with the female body. I’m trying to learn though. I’m glad you got to have a little fun with him. But yeah, it seems like your body is playing a joke on you.

July 29, 2019

You relaxed. You really relaxed and here it came. You felt safe… I’d say that is actually pretty cool

July 30, 2019

Do you think maybe your body finally let go because he was home and all was good. The body is weird like that. Stress can cause no period. I remember perimenopause all too well. I was in my early 40s. So it came quickly for me. Glad he is home. Enjoy the time you have before he heads back out.