Shameless

I had a nice conversation with my spirit daughter last night.  We talked about religion, patriarchy, and all the good stuff that mamas and daughters should talk about but often don’t.  Fortunately, we are very like minded, so it was a good conversation.
In our discussion, I brought up this statue.  This is “Eve,” by Rodin.  If you are unfamiliar with the story of Adam and Eve, the gist of it is that God created Adam and Eve and they did not know that they were naked or have any shame.  But they ate the fruit of a tree that God had specifically  forbidden them to eat, and then they realized that they should cover themselves.
I always loved this statue because this is could have been a sculpture of me at the time I discovered it.  I had a little bit of pudge on my belly, and my thighs didn’t really gap, and I had been ashamed of my body from my earliest memory.
To me, this image is the perfect depiction of how I felt about my body.  Don’t look.  I’m ashamed.
And in the course of discussing this with her, I thought, “women didn’t know shame until God gave it to them.”  And, if you grew up in any Christian environment, you probably know this, but have you ever thought of it that way?  God made us ashamed of our bodies.

Now, I don’t believe any of these stories are literal.  I know that shame comes from social expectations.  But the most ancient form of manipulating a society is religion.

I don’t really have anything else to say.  I just wanted to put that out there before I forget to write it down.

Log in to write a note
January 19, 2023

Patriarchy did it’s damnedest to subjugate women. Women held a high place in early society. Priestesses and Goddesses. Patriarchy sought to destroy them and demean powerful women. It worked for a very long time. I find it interesting that the statue covers her bosom but not her pelvic area. To me it makes her even more vulnerable to assault.

January 19, 2023

@snarkle I see your  point about vulnerability, but my breasts were always the bane of my existence.  They attracted unwanted attention.  I have inverted nipples, so I always felt I was deformed.  So this is how I would have covered myself.

And it’s not surprising that a man would choose to cover the breasts.  Men/boys are attracted to breasts from the moment they exit the womb.  Even before they know about sex they are attracted to them.

True story:  when my brother was about three years old, he was taking a nap.  My mom heard him giggling, so she went in to check on him.  He was giggling in his sleep.  When he woke, she asked him what he’d been giggling about.  He told her he dreamed he’d been chasing Wonder Woman and her top fell off.

January 19, 2023

@oniongirl whoa! That’s pretty precocious for a 3 yr old! I had big boobs from 12 on up. B cup at 12 and I was hideously aware of them and the girls in my class were so jealous (I would have happily given them away). But I was also painfully aware of my pubic area (due to … well you can either guess or you know). I guess dysmorphia cost me pride in my whole body.

January 19, 2023

@snarkle absolutely.  I recently found a picture of myself in a bathing suit at about 13 years old.  I believed I looked like a whale at the time.  What I wouldn’t give to be that healthy, now.

 

January 19, 2023

@oniongirl I hear you

January 19, 2023

I love this sculpture.  Rodin captured her and her shame perfectly.

I’ve been ashamed of my body for years now, but no longer!  My body is my chariot and dammit, I’m going to ride it as long as I can!