Silver Linings

I was in the process of writing about how crappy this year has been for me, thus far:

  • I had what was supposed to be a simple hysterectomy turn into a total hysterectomy.
  • I turned 50.
  • I went septic and spent several days in the hospital.
  • I had to push IV antibiotics for a month, through a PICC line, at home.
  • Not long after I got off the PICC line, Drew ended up in the hospital with abdominal pain. It was a week and a half before they figured out what was wrong. Then he had his gall bladder out.
  • On Sunday, I’m starting to feel like life is back to normal. I go out to feed my dogs, and my sweet princess, Despereaux had passed away.

But!Β then the doorbell rang. There was a package. It was a Build-a-Bear with a full set of Ravenclaw gear!

Drew’s adult daughter got it for me for Mother’s Day (she thought it would take much longer). Drew and I have been together almost six years, and this is the first year she’ll have gotten me a gift! I’m so high on this, right now.

I’ve named him Archie. πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

The universe always reminds me that love is all we need!

Log in to write a note
March 24, 2021

That’s an awesome gift to get. How kind of her to think of that. Keep that head up.

March 24, 2021

@heffay I forgot to post the picture!

March 24, 2021

@oniongirl That’s an important part! I like Archie

March 24, 2021

I love Archie!Β  Always wanted one.Β  I am so sorry about Despereaux.Β  The medical trauma was enough.Β  And you have that right:Β Β “And nowΒ theseΒ three remain: faith, hope andΒ love. ButΒ the greatest of these is love”.Β Β πŸ’›