Today’s Dr. Phil, “Are Women Being Erased?” – Discussion?

I have tried to discuss this topic here before.  It’s a delicate subject, and I do not want to hurt or diminish anyone else’s life experience.

Having said that, I have some opinions about this discussion.  Watch it and comment here, if you’d like to join me in this respectful and open conversation.  All rational voices are welcome:

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 13, 2023

Why do people feel threatened ?   /  In fact, I feel the voices of transwomen (and transmen) will help bring more understanding and clarity to gender equality issues because they are the ones who understand gender inequality most, because they have lived both lives.

April 13, 2023

@journalsecret I don’t feel that women are being erased.  I do feel that some trans activism is a little extreme.  Not all, of course, but “birthing bodies?”  “Uterus bearers?”  I am no more defined by my organs (or lack thereof) than anyone else.
To  me, “woman” is a powerful word.  I worked hard to become a woman I could be proud of.

April 14, 2023

@oniongirl yup exactly. we are not defined by our bodies.

May 11, 2023

@oniongirl It’s an interesting conversation. To lend my perspective, I work in the perinatal field and I use the term pregnant person and chest feeding because in some cases a transgender man became pregnant accidentally or wants to have their own children but the process of being identified as a woman and going through something so female oriented is emotionally painful. I’ll do anything to help them feel more comfortable with their situation because in the end, if they feel good they’ll be able to take better care of their baby. Everyone is on a different journey.  <3

May 12, 2023

@celestialflutter I don’t disagree with anything you said.  I have no problem with medical professionals using that terminology.  I just don’t want anyone else deciding what I should call myself, which is the impression I got from this show.