TOTW 80 – Moved On

What’s something you’ve moved on from that once meant the world to you?

If you refer back to some of my earliest entries, you will read the story of the second most painful breakup of my life.  The first was my marriage, and it was my choice to end it.  It was painful because my ex-husband committed suicide.  (Yet another example of his controlling behavior).

So my third entry in this journal was in April of 2006.  You can read it here.   I was seeing a man who was in an open marriage.  I don’t remember exactly how long we’d been seeing each other, but it was the relationship that taught me what sex could be.  I believed that we were meant to be together and I never imagined I could love anyone the way that I loved him.

So when, one day, out of the blue, he tells me over chat in Everquest 2, “Bad news.  Michelle wants me to stop seeing you,” I was absolutely sickened.  I’ll let you read all of that if you want details.

Ultimately, I wrote about forty-six entries working out my grief over him.

The last entry I wrote about him was 336 days after he disposed of me like a plastic fork.  I think it sums up the “over it” pretty well.  I’m just going to go ahead and paste that, here, because, smug.

Day 336

Dear Lunch Buddy,

It’s been nearly a year since that terrible day that I thought my heart had been crushed literally into pieces, causing the blood to ooze out, making me weak, tired, and causing more pain than I knew I could feel.  Despite the pain, the ache, the desperation, I knew I could survive it and I have.

I did start taking those anxiety meds.  I had no idea how bad my anxiety had been until I started taking those meds and it was gone.  I have the newfound ability to think through stressful moments, as opposed to worrying about the vast possibilities all at once.

I did fall in love with that kitty, too.  I named her Sweetness, because that is the name that kept coming from my mouth.  She’s adorable and gives me so much joy.

Speaking of Joy, I got a wonderful job in August.  I teach part time at a private school for girls and I love this job so much.  They’ve already told me that I’ll be full-time next year and that they want me to teach Summer school (which will help a lot, this summer).

And I have a new roommate, who has become a dear friend.

These four factors have helped me to heal in ways I never thought possible.  Even after that ugly day when you told me that I had caused you to alienate all of your friends and that you didn’t really want those things you had claimed to want with me because you wanted to be able to play your MMORPGs without guilt.

I’m not in love with you any more.  I was once.  I miss what we had.  But you are no longer the man I want to spend my life with.  You are arrogant and dishonest, with yourself and with me.  And you are selfish.

There is nothing in this letter that you do not already know, because you have returned to the habit of calling me nearly every day.  You ask to see me for lunch a couple of times per week.  You still hold my hand, and hug me, and sometimes kiss me… and sometimes more.  I let you because I am physically lonely and you are still the best lover I have ever had.  It is comforting to be held and kissed even though my feelings for your are that of a dear friend.  I am fully aware that you are still in love with me and still unfulfilled in the life you have chosen.  But you are unable to admit to that.  And it no longer matters to me.

I have plans again.  I have plans that are completely within my grasp.  I want my own home.  I want to live in a rural area with a garden and some animals and a workshop.  And I want to be a mother.  I want to have a foster home for girls.  I want to teach them how to be self-sufficient.  I want to give them the love that they need.  And I can do these things, with or without you… with or without any man.

I haven’t given up on the hope of finding a man who’ll give me what I deserve.  I’m an attractive, intelligent, passionate, creative, funny, warm, generous, thoughtful, and philosophical woman.  There are men who would feel incredibly fortunate to have me in their lives.  But I’m no longer waiting for for one of them to rescue me. 

I have rescued myself, with God’s grace.  I love you.  But I no longer want you and I certainly don’t need you.  I hope you can someday find the peace that I have found.

Always,

For the record, if you go back and read the entries between the one I linked above and this one that I have shared, you will read me  raving about how foolish he is because his wife will never be satisfied with him.

Shortly after Drew and I began seeing each other, Rick, aka Lunch Buddy, told me that his wife was moving in with her latest lover.  They are divorced now.

I’m sorry that he was hurting, but you reap what you sow.

Log in to write a note
July 21, 2020

I like in the entry how you say you don’t need a man to rescue you and that you have rescued yourself. That’s awesome!

July 21, 2020

I don’t think other people are the way to go when we are feeling discarded. I think we need to work out for ourselves how to over come what we are going through….But there is always someone around who will just listen to us trying to figure out the next step.

July 21, 2020
July 21, 2020

Well done!! And you got it right. Nobody can rescue anyone (unless they are on fire or drowning or hanging off a cliff). Only we can save ourselves and you did a right fine job! Well done!!

July 21, 2020

@snarkle Thank you.

July 21, 2020

This is a very entry. I am glad that I decided to wait until I had slept to read it so that I could really appreciate it. Thank you for sharing this.

July 21, 2020

@heffay are you sure you got enough sleep?  “a very entry?”  😛

July 22, 2020

@oniongirl That was a test! Congrats you passed. I believe I was meaning to say it was a very GOOD entry.

July 22, 2020

@heffay woohoo!  My neuropsychologist says I’m a genius!

August 1, 2020

I’m glad you were able to move on like that. It sounds like you had some really aspirational goals that you were correct, you didn’t need a man for.