TOTW61 – Getting Out of My Own Way

I have story that I want to tell.  I think it’s an important story, and I think that a lot of people could relate to it.  It started as a memoir, but has evolved due to the heavy influence of the youth fiction I’ve been reading lately.  Specifically, Kwame Mbalia’s Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky has lit me on fire for writing for young adults.  I think I can weave the various elements of my memoir into a Christian Myth-based work that would probably be banned by Bible Belt school districts, but that’ll just make it more popular.

So, this “week’s” question is “What is one thought that has been getting the best of you lately? How has it been influencing your behavior?”  The one thought is, “I’m not good enough to actually produce this.”  It’s caused me to get frustrated before I get anywhere with my story and distract myself with things like phone games, Facebook, and Open Diary.

The significance of Mbalia’s book is that he tackles the specter of slavery in a way that doesn’t feel like a lecture or an attack on white people.  Yes, I know that there are some white folks who will feel attacked because that’s just what they do, but a reasonable person will be really impressed with Mbalia’s approach.

I want to do a similar kind of story in which the bad guys, “the serpents,” are Christians who use their faith to abuse and manipulate.  My main character will be named Jezebel Spirit Hayes, because her mother rebelled against her parents’ beliefs and got pregnant very young.  Jezebel will go by Jesse, because her grandparents took custody of her when Jesse’s mother attempted suicide (because she couldn’t live up to their standards).

Jesse is starting high school in a public school.  Up to now, she’ll have attended a very conservative Christian school and attended church several times per week with her grandparents.  Her friends are kids her age who have also attended the Christian school and the church.  In public school, she’ll realize that she’s never really known any of them, because they all wear masks to fit in to the neat little categories that have been assigned them by their controlling church.

I haven’t yet decided if I want the serpents and the masks to be literal, yet.  If I did, it would be more of a fantasy novel.  But it’s something I’m playing with.

I don’t want to make all Christians out to be bad guys.  I honestly believe that the most judgmental Christians are the most fearful.  They create standards that no human could live up to, and then they have to reassure themselves that they’re not horrible by pointing out the flaws of others.  The leader who had the most negative influence on me, can also be given credit for saving me from the unimaginable, because he and his wife practically adopted me when my parents were in the midst of drug an alcohol abuse.  Home was not safe, especially for me, because of the kinds of people that that lifestyle can bring around.

My experience was with fundamentalist Christianity, but I have spoken to ex-Mormons, Catholics, and Jehovah’s Witnesses who have all believed that they were doomed… damned… for not conforming to the ridiculous list of criteria for their particular sect.

And now I’m out of words.  I have bronchitis, and it wears me out.  But this is what I’m currently struggling with.  I’d love to hear your thoughts, and if you have your own stories of spiritual abuse or oppression and would like to share them with me for possible characters for my story, I would love to hear them.

Log in to write a note
November 5, 2019

I think it’s a good idea for a book. You know my story. I recommend getting on Reddit and looking at the ex religion pages (I am bad at Reddit terms). I know how bad things were for me, and I also know because the exmormon Reddit that I was also very lucky. Go on them and ask for stories and you’ll hear a ton. Or you just go and look and if you find one that inspires you, ask for permission.

November 6, 2019

@heffay good idea.  Thanks.

November 6, 2019

I was raised catholic and it still leaves an impression inside of me to a certain degree. I’ve healed from most of it….but guilt and being a martyr are huge in this religion

November 6, 2019

I think when this book is finished I would want to read it.  But me being Jewish it would have a different meaning because I like to think that us Jews are more liberal and will not say this is right or this is wrong, we will look at both sides and decide for our selves where we want to be.  I find it really funny how Jewish people are not the ones telling you that you have to do this or that or g-d will hate you and you will go to hell.  But then is there really a worse place to go to burn all your sins away?

November 6, 2019

tossing out a thought. Could you play it along the lines of The Secret Life of Walter Mitty? A real life played out in her thoughts/fantasies? Then you could play it both ways. Just a thought

November 6, 2019

@snarkle I’ll have to watch that.  That’s a good idea.

 

November 17, 2019

@oniongirl

Great movie! I’m sure you’ll enjoy:)

November 7, 2019

Your idea for your book sounds like a really good idea. I don’t have any stories of spiritual abuse to tell, but hopefully you can find some really good ones to inspire your novel.