What Have You Done For You, Lately?

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned once or twice, I have health issues that make it challenging for me to stay on top of things. Simple tasks like showering can exhaust me, so I was down to showering twice per week.
I started a daily todo list last Tuesday. It includes everything I need to do daily: shower, brush my teeth morning and night, clean the litter box, feed the critters, all of my various meds, house work, and even making time for creativity.
I’ve been checking off almost everything every day since. I’ve been slacking on time for creativity, but I had some thoughts on that, yesterday, so I plan to do better.
Last night, I didn’t sleep well, and I had weird dreams when I did sleep, so I slept later than intended, and felt pretty awful when I woke. I seriously debated forgoing the shower, just once, so that I could go ahead and get started with my day.
But I’ve always heard that it takes 21 days to make a habit and 90 days to make it a permanent lifestyle change. I’m only the 6th day in, so I decided to force myself into the shower, anyway.
So it’s only 10:00 AM on Sunday, and I have showered, dressed, brushed and flossed, taken ALL of my meds, fed my dogs, prepared my morning smoothie, created the graphic for this post, and am currently enjoying the fruits of my labor. ❤

What are you proud of?

(Also, if you’re curious about any of the things on my list to the right, feel free to ask.)

Log in to write a note
October 18, 2020

Oh you caught me.  Like you, I have health issues that seriously impact my ability to do things.  I guess what I’m proud of for yesterday is getting the dishwasher unloaded, the dirty dishes rinsed & in it, and then the hand dishes washed.  That’s pathetic, isn’t it?

October 18, 2020

@ghostdancer nope!  My cats litter box is in the guest bathroom.  My fiancé and I use the master bath, and we rarely have company.  I’ve started using the guest bedroom at least once per day, so that I can scoop the litter pan as I use the 🚽.  And I’m proud of myself for this!😉

October 18, 2020

@oniongirl Then we’re a pair to draw to, aren’t we?😁

October 18, 2020

@ghostdancer Absolutely!

October 18, 2020

I have never thought to take into an account the everyday things I do that get accomplished.  i always have the really huge jobs on my to do list like washing the floors and cleaning the stove and oven.

October 18, 2020

@jaythesmartone I find that keeping lists like these is sort of self-motivating.

October 18, 2020

I don’t write my stuff down because my brain is sort of uncoordinated. But when I have a really good day, like yesterday, I can rejoice.

October 18, 2020

@snarkle, I forget everything.  But keeping a list of what I need to do daily, has made it easier for me to remember other things.  I have lists for everything.  When I remember something I’ll need to get, I immediately add it to the Shopping List.  All of my medical appointments are on my calendar with reminders.
It’s working for me.  🙂

October 19, 2020

@oniongirl YAY! I lose my lists. I’m just a mess

November 5, 2020

What kind of smoothie?

November 5, 2020

@dragontears triple berry, with banana, greek yogurt, and almond milk.  YUM!

 

November 5, 2020

@oniongirl Oh, that does sound good. I’ve been looking for ideas since getting my nutri-bullet.