What’s the One Song that Transports you Back in Time?

A FaceBook friend asked the question above.  This was my response, and I think it’s kind of poetic.

It was the last dance of 7th grade. 8th graders would soon be moving on to high school. There were a couple of boys there that I liked, but I didn’t have the confidence to ask them to dance with me.
This song started. One of the 8th grade boys that I liked asked me to dance. He held me close and tight, and my heart pounded.
Physical contact elsewhere in my life was limited to violence. So I was shocked by the heat that radiated from him. He had a nice smell, and what I could only assume were his keys poked me hard in the hip. 😉
I go back to that moment every time.

What’s your time travel song?

Log in to write a note
June 3, 2019

I have so many songs that bring me back in time and they are always because of someone doing or being something I could never be…Like the song that reminds me of my hubby is “a night to remember”

June 3, 2019

That sounds like a great memory.

I guess I have several time travel songs. Every time I hear a song from the 2005-2009 era, I’m reminded of what it felt like to be in high school.