When Negative is Positive But Not Completely

What you see above is one of the three pregnancy tests I’ve taken in my life.  The first was after I was divorced and seeing a much younger man.  I was 27 and had been on the pill for years, but my period was late.  It was never late.  I was so relieved when it came back negative that I called him sobbing with joy.  He broke up with me, shortly after, because “you almost getting pregnant scared the hell out of me.”  Like I did it by myself.  Like there is such a thing as “almost getting pregnant.”

The second pregnancy test was in January of 2000.  I had just turned 29.  That time it came back positive and ended up being an ectopic pregnancy that nearly killed me.  You can read that story here.

Now, I am 48.  I have serious health issues, and Drew made it clear from the beginning of our relationship that he was done raising children.  He has a biological daughter and a stepson that he is still close to.  Having a child at this point in my life would be a disaster.

It’s also highly unlikely that I would be pregnant.  My ectopic pregnancy destroyed one of my Fallopian tubes, rendering me half as fertile as I’d been previously.  I am approaching menopause, and I’m overweight.  Drew and I are both larger people, and traditional intercourse is hard for us because he’s got a barrel chest, and it presses right on my diaphragm, so I can’t breath.  The point being that we very rarely finish in a way that could produce a child.  But we did, once, relatively recently.

My periods have been irregular.  I usually keep pretty good track, but it’s been so weird since April, that I didn’t have a starting day.  I know that it’s been over a month since I’ve had a period, and I started thinking that I should probably check to be certain.

So there is my result.  NEGATIVO!  I thought I’d be relieved, but I actually feel kind of hollow and sad.  I feel so blessed to have Laura as my “Spirit Daughter,” but I had always wanted to go through a pregnancy, a delivery, and the cuddling and caring for a baby.  When I was pregnant before, I had kept a journal for my baby.  I wrote to her every day, telling her how scared I was, but how excited I was to see her.  I had fantasies of kissing her hair, smelling her, nursing her.  The night before I miscarried, I had a feeling that something was not right.  I wrote in my journal that I felt like something was wrong.  I wrote, “I already love you so much.  Don’t go anywhere, OK?”  It’ll be 20 years ago in February.  My child would be turning 19 in September.

I just need to remember how blessed I am.  Drew has been in Singapore since last Saturday.  He comes back on Sunday.  I miss him.  I haven’t told him that I was worried.  I probably will after we’ve had time to rest and snuggle and relax.

Melancholy.  That’s how I feel.

Log in to write a note
July 26, 2019

I read the entry about Jackson and the miscarriage or the ectopic pregnancy, this is an area I’m not very knowledgeable about. Jackson sounds like a huge asshole and so I can imagine there’s a ton of emotions involved with all of it. I think, like you wrote in the older entry, being tied to him for life would be terrible in so many ways. He seems like the type that would try to make your life absolutely miserable whenever he isn’t getting his way. But I can also see that there would be sadness, especially when you lose a fallopian tube in the aftermath.

I don’t have anything very wise or helpful to say. Just that I’m sorry.

July 26, 2019

@heffay, I believe that positive thoughts are important.  Thank you for yours.  🙂

July 26, 2019

I have often wondered what people do when they live totally alone not even with children how they get that touch they need and the hugs that seem to always do the trick of being loved.  I have always been lucky to have all the hugs and touch I ever needed and I still have that plus more.  I know just from reading your entries that Drew is the best person happen to you.  You are very lucky to have him like I am very lucky to have my hubby…..

July 26, 2019

@jaythesmartone, we are lucky.

July 26, 2019

Hug

July 26, 2019

@snarkle 💖