Changing your diary privacy

To change the privacy of your diary, you can go to your Profile by clicking the main menu in the upper right of the screen and then clicking on Profile.

Once you are at your Profile, click on the Settings dropdown:

On the dropdown, click on Diary. This will take you to a screen where the first option is Diary Privacy:

There are four options for diary privacy:

  • Public – your diary will be visible to anybody who comes to Open Diary, including people who are not members
  • Members Only – your diary will be visible only to other members of Open Diary, and only if they are logged in
  • Friends Only – your diary will be visible only to your Friends on Open Diary
  • Private – your diary will only be visible to you

Note that the privacy of an entry can override diary privacy, if it is a more secure setting. This means that your diary can be Members Only, but if you have a Friends Only entry in your diary, only your Friends will see it.

This does not work in the other direction – meaning, if you have a Friends Only diary and post an entry as Public, the entry still will NOT be visible to the public, it will only be visible to your Friends.

Select the privacy level that you want for your diary and scroll down to the bottom of the page. Click on the Save Changes button to update the privacy level of your diary.

<< Return to the Help Index
Log in to write a note
June 12, 2018

Thank you. Please forgive the big dumb obvious question- but to restate, does this mean that chamgingmy diary to members lnlymeans I do not have to go through the process of manually changing enties posted as public, to members only, because the whole diary is members only?

 

June 12, 2018

Please forgive typos, too.

June 22, 2018

@e3 yes, that’s correct – your diary privacy setting will override your entry setting.