A former caregiver looks back in wonder and gratitude

 

This January 28 will mark one year since my mother passed away.  I lived with her for ten years, taking care of all her needs until the end with the assistance of Hospice and five part-time caregivers/home aides, several of whom had been with us for five or more years.

Fortunately, I was able to retire 3 1/2 years ago, so I was freed from work obligations to devote all my time to her.  I absolutely  could not have continued to work and be a full-time caregiver as well.  Mom had continued a slow decline from vascular dementia and diabetes.  She was 96.    She was blessed to have long-term care insurance so we didn’t have to go into poverty to provide the necessary aides to assist me.  I could not have possibly done it alone.

Now as I look back on the past year, most of it consumed by the global coronavirus pandemic which has altered all our lives so dramatically, I feel like I’m drifting along day by day in the same routine, but alone and living the solitary life always imagined I would live before Mom was no longer able to live on her own and I had to take over.

For years I was accustomed to the wildest swings of emotion and stress as her dementia got horribly worse in the last five years.  But I prided myself in my ability to juggle the demands of a job and full-time caregiving, while managing to get away to parks and nature preserves for several hours at a time to clear my head and renew myself.  For the first time I felt  that I was successfully weathering unprecedented, and sometimes terrible, new storms in life that buffeted me frequently.   I was more patient  and compassionate than I ever imagined I could be, despite the moments late at night when I almost lost it.  Caregiving created this new person I felt good about.  I felt fulfilled after a life of so many personal setbacks and failures.

But now, nine months into the pandemic, I am alone.  I feel like I’m almost living on autopilot.   I adhere rigidly to my daily routine.  I hardly ever see anybody.  Where I live you’d hardly think there was a pandemic, people are going about their lives and doing pretty much what they want to do  — seemingly.

How would I really  know though? I live in my own little quarantine bubble because of my age and risk factors. I’m really afraid to take any kind of unusual chances, which would mean confidently starting to do things which once were a normal part of life.  Right now I get out when it’s necessary and/or I have exhausted other avenues.  So my life post-caregiving has been daily routines, walks, over-reliance on the Internet, writing and photography.  I don’t have to do anything I don’t want to, yet I like so many others I actually long to live life with a semblance of the normalcy I once took for granted.   As a caregiver,  I was fully alive to the tasks at hand to ensure that Mom was comfortable and well cared for.  Now I have only myself to care for.  Most would think this is a much less stressful situation than what I had been accustomed to for so many years. Yes snd no.

The pandemic put my life on hold basically just as it did for so many millions of other people. The grieving process was short -circuited.

Instead of traveling, volunteering, cultivating my new friends after retiring, I find myself unmoored for the time being.  As supremely difficult, and as mentally, physically and emotionally draining as caregiving is, it gave me a clearly defined purpose in life.  Now that is gone, and I have to deal with that fact, creating a new life for myself once the pandemic is over.  I can’t seem to do that now.

Mom’s  presence and spirit are almost palpable in this house. Every time I look at her beloved antiques and the books and papers from her life when she was independent, I sense her very close by.

You can’t prepare for life after caregiving for a loved one.  It’s impossible to anticipate how you will feel.  My advice to those who are presently caregiving is this:   The job you are doing and your role is irreplaceable and invaluable.  Take pride and marvel at the fact that you are helping your loved one “live in place” in their own home.   I can’t even imagine the tragic and calamitous situations in countless assisted living and nursing home facilities across  the country because of the pandemic.

When caregiving is over, life changes dramatically in an instant.   Your purpose for being is gone, if only temporarily.  Take time to recover from your loss.  Don’t feel you have to immediately dash out and find something to fill the vacuum you might think you are in.  Life will go on, and so will you.  You’ll remember the good things about the loved one you’ve lost.  Memories of the agonizing nights coping with and trying to comfort someone who has lost so much of themselves will all but vanish.  I can think of those times only if I try hard enough.  But why should I do this?  I don’t need to convince myself it all happened, surreal as it now seems, foggy and distant.  Maybe that is a coping mechanism to help me deal with the continuing grief I feel.  Christmas was especially hard.  So many memories of past holidays now far distant along the path of time as I perceive it,  now that I am so much older.

I see Mom’s radiant smile and I feel the love she had for her children.  She considered us her greatest blessing.  And how blessed I was to have a mother like that!  I’ll be forever grateful that I had the privilege of caring for her when she needed me most. After all, she gave me the life I have and nurtured and cared for me for so many years, both when I was young, and as an adult.  There is no love like a mother’s for her child.

 

Log in to write a note
January 4, 2021

How beautiful that you feel this way about your mom and caring for her.  Not only was she a lovely mom, you are a lovely and rare child.

January 5, 2021

@catholicchristian  Thank you for the kind words.  I did my best for my mother and she knows that.

January 4, 2021

About 3 years ago I left the workaday world to take care of my 85 y/o Father for the very same reasons. The balancing act had been hard on everyone after 5 years and I’m thankful that I did let some things go to care for him in the last months. I imagined a lot of adventures after that and this last year really put a pinch in those plans. I do live with two other family members but a lot of the isolation is the same for all of us.

Using the time to sort out the loose ends of another person’s life has been appropriate but then what? People ask me if I’m going back to what I was doing. No. I ask myself when the right time to start the “Effit list” back up will be and there still isn’t a really great answer.

January 5, 2021

@tunguska  You are to be commended for selflessly giving of yourself for your father.
It takes time for all the loose ends to come together.  In the meantime, and a year later, I am still wondering what is the best course for me after the pandemic.  Sometimes you can plan only so far ahead.  Then comes something like the pandemic which has altered all our lives.

January 7, 2021

This pandemic has made life unreal for almost all of us, Oswego.  I’m no longer a caregiver & haven’t been for years but I was lucky enough not to be a full time caregiver, so that I kept several part of my life, and just moved back into them full time.  But this pandemic has me floating in unreality: aside from sorting how to get groceries, & other necessary errands done, I’m just at loose ends.  So many thing I should be doing, and the days go by & I don’t get them done.  Partly that’s because I’m not in the best physical shape, but also it’s a mental thing.  I think if I could get out & do more, I would get more done here at home.  If that makes any sense.

I’m glad you could write about your feelings on this anniversary.  Time fades the pain and leaves only the good memories, and I know you will arrive there on your journey.

January 10, 2021

@ghostdancer  True indeed!  Life in the pandemic does seem unreal.  The normal routines we took for granted don’t apply anymore.  I know it will end before long, but I wonder also how much we as a society will have learned from this ordeal. Will we make a break with the past, or will we continue on with life as usual?

Time does heal grief, and writing is, and always has been, highly therapeutic for me.

January 8, 2021

What a wonderful service you did for your mother. My mother is in assisted living. She is 93 and living in a memory care situation. She also has been diagnosed with depression and has suffered from chronic UTI for years. She is a widow and never recovered from my dad’s death. My siblings and I tried to care for her but it just wasn’t possible. So again, my respect to you.

I too live in an isolated situation, and I also have access to Mother Nature on a daily basis. I have my writing and my books. It was hard at first to adjust to being alone (divorced in 2015) and grieve though that but I am now on the other side. It took a few years.

The pandemic is not what we expected. Grief cannot be measured. So hang in there. I find if I think of 3 things every day to be thankful for, it helps. I am no longer depressed as often as I once was. I understand about purpose. It’s helpful to live one day at a time…also emotions are OK.

January 10, 2021

@hearthkeeper  Thank you for your wise words and observations.  You did what you could to take care of your mother at home.  Sometimes it’s not possible to continue care in that setting.  Did you have home aides come in to assist you?

Living in an isolated situation comes naturally for me, and so it is easier for me to self-quarantine and weather this pandemic.

Each day I can think of a lot to be grateful for.  I have endless reading materiel to stimulate my mind, and I have my love of God and Nature.  I feel I must live one day at a time, and each of those days with some purpose in mind.

January 10, 2021

@oswego

We tried 3 times to have an aid to help. Mom would have none of it. She is STILL stubborn, refusing to get vaccinated there in the facility. She can be the sweetest person and of course I love her dearly. She is not herself and that is the worst part of this disease.

January 10, 2021

inspiring words.  Mother is rather frail but cognitively pretty good.  We are in total lockdown in Ontario.  Can only go out to get groceries, drugs, booze or for medical visits.  Everything else is closed including any recreation outlets.  I am glad that I brought Mother to live with us 10 years ago, after my father died.  I can’t imagine how I’d feel if we had put her in an old folks home.  Where I live the fatality rate in these homes has been 50-70%!  The over-worked staff are also suffering with high infection rates.  So far this draconian lockdown hasn’t put a dent in the Covid cases.  However I discovered that the Covid ICU numbers for the province were 363 out of a total number of available 2136 beds.  The media headlines are that Covid patients are “threatening “ to over run the ICU beds.  I suppose the modifier “threatening” justifies the hype?  It’s stuff like this that makes things seem even worse than they are.

January 12, 2021

@trunorth  I am so glad you have your mother at home.  Daily I read about the heartbreaking situation and conditions in care facilities.  I told my sister the other day that yesrs ago when Mom could no longer live by herself that I could not bear, or even imagine her slumped over sleeping or drugged in a commons room in a nursing home.  I would make any amount of sacrifice to prevent that, and thankfully, I was able to.