A perfect Spring day at the gardens

I’ve been stepping away from the madness of crowds, traffic and noise by visiting Magnolia Gardens for more that 40 years now. It’s enchanting, flower-filled pathways are known to me by heart.

I can honestly say I know every nook and cranny of this 400-acre wonderland, considered by many one of the most beautiful gardens in the country. It gets a lot of visitors from all over the world, but I know the best times of day, year and season to go and have much of it all to myself. Yes, those refreshing, rejuvenating solitary walks in Spring and Fall when the gardens are so empty, are true bliss. How fortunate I am!

February through May are my favorite months because the gardens are generally cool and delightful. I can easily find mild and beautiful days in December and January as well. There are no limits to the photo possibilities, and now with the latest iPhone camera, I can once again take very sharp photos. I haven’t used my broken Nikon in over a year now. I’m happy with the phone camera. It’s the future of photography, I feel sure.

Here is a set of photos taken at Magnolia April 20. The afternoon was pure perfection — 65 degrees, sunny with clear, pristine afternoon light. Every outside care melted away as I wandered the paths taking pictures. There were a few of those “A ha!” moments when I knew I had gotten an especially good photo and composition. Those are the pictures, admittedly rare, which to my mind tell stories and create special moods for not only myself, but for those who see what I am seeing in the picture.

Thanks to the Internet, photography is now, as it never remotely could have been, a means of communication for anyone, even a form of mass communication, if the right circumstances are in play. That’s very exciting.

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/8YCu99

Log in to write a note
April 27, 2022

What a beautiful place!!  A few pictures stood out for me.  The first was the one where the gazebo was tucked away under the tree.  Then the big picture right after that one of the dirt trail leading into the trees…so pretty!!  In the picture of the big, old tree with the people walking under it…I wonder how old that tree is.  Oh, and that blue flower…wow!!

Thanks for sharing your pictures.  I loved seeing them!

April 27, 2022

@happyathome Thank you so much!  😌 I am planning to go back there today.  That gazebo scene is a classic, especially in March when the azaleas are blooming around the lake.

Those are ancient live oak trees, probably 200-300 years old at least. They are so amazing.

April 27, 2022

AS always, you are an excellent photographer!  It’s hard to choose, but I love the one of the iris & the sun reflected in the water, and also the one of the lovely old tree and lawn.  You are so lucky to have a place so magical nearby!

April 27, 2022

@ghostdancer I feel extremely blessed.  I am planning to head out to those gardens this afternoon. I use my yearly pass.  I have a small lightweight chair in a carry bag I can can with me on my walk using the shouklder strap, and can sit and enjoy my favorite spot far from the crowds! 😊

April 27, 2022

@oswego Even better!  Hope you bring along a flask of something nice to drink, and maybe a snack, while you’re sitting and contemplating!