Another time and place away from it all

During a recent visit to the state park near me, at the peak of Spring and walking among the most beautiful old live oak trees, shading and towering above paths lined with pink and white azaleas in bloom, dogwoods and the last of the camellias, I found myself in a calm place — a state of gratitude, awe and wonder. My surroundings were so lovely, the air so cool and perfect, that I could not even think about or imagine the world outside with all it’s travails and strife, it’s traffic, commotion, and people running around in the frenzied pursuit of busyness.

I turn off the main thoroughfare and on to the park access road and the canopy of oaks envelopes me immediately. I know that I am about to enter a very special sanctuary. It’s amazing how quickly the world outside fades away. In this park, in the middle of the city, time stands still, the seasons follow one another in perfect harmony, sunlight filters through the trees, and I can forget about what might be and concentrate on the experiences of the moment, which, while fleeting in temporal terms, linger on in my spirit and imagination.

A place of tranquility
https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/P8Tb32

Log in to write a note
June 10, 2022

Beautiful and so peaceful looking…love these pictures so much.  Thanks for sharing them.

June 10, 2022

@happyathome Gladly!  I’m so happy when others enjoy them!

June 17, 2022

Beautiful photos of such a peaceful place.  Thank you.