Away from it all

But indeed, it is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of the air, that emanation from the old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit.

 Robert Louis Stevenson

 

Today, and during this coming week, I’m planning to visit some of my favorite forested areas and spend time amid Nature as a way to keep myself grounded and sane during this pandemic and chaotic time in the life of the country.  Walking along these treasured woodland paths I’ve known and cherished for more than 20 years, is the only way I can remove myself from the news and my obsession with my phone.  Whoever thought a technological device, giving access to the entire universe of the Internet, would have so much power to compel my attention with its myriad diversions and attractions.  Whoever thought first computers, and then smart phones would change everything.   And now in times of national crisis, they and cable news bring it all terrifyingly close.

But in the woods,  gazing up at ancient trees makes me realize there is life outside the Internet and media of all kinds.   Walking underneath a canopy of trees in a quiet park or forest enables  to get away from a world that seems imploding, and not so quietly now..  Escape! escape!  I tell myself, and soon I will.

How do you get away from all this turmoil?

Trees and woodland scenes near me that I cherish:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/ji6sj3

Log in to write a note
January 10, 2021

Hope you find the inner peace and strength needed to stand fast in these troubled times.

January 12, 2021

@trunorth Thank you.  I wish the same for you.

Fortunately, I have many, many resources to draw upon.