Healing our nation’s wounded soul

In light of the events of January 6 and the four nightmarish, dystopian years which preceded and directly led up to that horrific and shameful day in our history, I have read and re-read these two quotes. They express in a few short words what might take me pages to write, out of anger and despair, but also out of hope. In Marianne Williamson’s words, I read about that hope from a sane and clear voice crying out in the wilderness for us to listen.

President Donald Trump is leaving America in a vortex of violence, sickness and death and more internally estranged than it has been for 150 years.

Steven Collinson

…To say our nation’s soul needs healing is absolutely true, but it’s not going to happen without a deeper understanding of what it means. The reason our nation’s soul is sick is because it hasn’t been healthy for a while. America doesn’t just have a pandemic, a broken economy or a tyrannical president to [have dealt with]. We have a collective mental health issue that is hiding in plain sight….

Only when we decide as a society to actively align our policies with the tenets of a healthy soul—putting kindness, love, mercy and compassion over cutthroat attitudes that put glorification of self over a commitment to the love that binds us as one, not only in our private behavior but in our political and economic behavior as well—will our wounded soul begin to heal itself…

Marianne Williamson


Log in to write a note
January 17, 2021

I haven’t been reading or writing, mostly dwelling in emotional exhaustion and heart sickness. I am just now beginning to pull my head back out of the sand. Yours is the first entry I’ve been able to read all the way through without feeling absolutely hopeless.

January 18, 2021

I have several American friends who give me updates about what’s going on because I don’t follow the news, plus I read bits and pieces in OD. I also have Canadian friends who give me the low-down. The way I see it is everyone has their own take on something that’s become a big part of the global shift we’re going through. I do appreciate reading your posts because they offer another perspective without being extreme one way or another.

January 18, 2021

The thing that’s so infuriating about all of this is the way Trump was elected not to be the president but rather to punish the perceived enemies of his voters. I have a hard time forgiving people who actively voted against my health and safety because I’m not one of them.

January 19, 2021

@bitterpill  His  election and four years in office have caused a staggering amount of pain and anxiety.  Be glad you’re not one of them!