If ever there was a time for reconsidering our way of life, this is it

In the afternoons lately I’ve been doing a lot of thinking, sitting on the big sofa in the den in a quiet empty house day after day.  My thoughts  constantly keep coming back to the Covid crisis, how I’m coping with it, what precautions I continue to need to take.  And I’m very worried about the people who are now filling the hospitals in our state, the latest victims of this disease.  I worry and am angered by all the younger people going to bars and other public places, not wearing masks and unable to keep any distance from others.  Then you hear about the people causing fights and confrontations about wearing masks in stores.  Think, think, think.  Gotta  get my mind off those things.

I do get out at least once, usually late in the afternoon or early evening just before sunset, and take a walk.  I always take photos of sunsets, clouds, flowers and trees on these walks and share them on some of my photo communities.

This is my life now.  Mom is gone.  She died this past January, right before the pandemic truck.  The house used to be busy with me and the caregivers taking care of Mom, visitors from the church, Hospice nurses.  Now that’s all gone.

Now I hardly have contact with anyone, except for the Internet.   I miss gong to my writing group meetings twice a month.  And I miss all the little shopping excursions just to get out of the house and be around others.  I recall distinctly the last time I went shopping.  It was right before the lockdown began.  I had premonitions things were going to change dramatically. I had been keeping up with the news very closely and was increasingly concerned about what lay ahead.   On that particular day, March 12, I went to get my brake works on,  then  to the craft store.  My fears were borne out next when I entered the grocery store and saw long lines in the checkout lanes, empty shelves and frozen food cases.  I was shocked.  I went from there to Barnes & Noble and then I headed home.  I haven’t been in a store since then, not even a grocery store.

I’ve been thinking about why we do all this running around buying things.   When I was dealing with the stress of caregiving last year, going to the store and shopping became a form of escape, of constant novelty.  Buy this or that, not that you need it, but I can now see why people do all this running around.  They’re either bored or stressed.  Most people can get everything they want at Costco, Wal-Mart or the grocery store.  But there are countless other stores and restaurants, gift shops, fast food joints, and on and on.  So now that I don’t shop anymore except online,  I feel sort of guilty.  With me and so many others not shopping, small businesses are hurting. How will they be able to stay in business?  Our whole way of life, our economic engine, our jobs and employment statistics are based on consumer spending.  That’s really sad when you think about it.  How many necessary items do you find in shopping malls?  But they’re mostly dying now.  I remember when I stepped into the first mall I visited.  It was 1964, and it seemed like the most glittering monument to consumer culture that I could ever imagine.  Of course, I isn’t think in those terms back in 8th grade.  The point is, to he pandemic is forcing us to evaluate what we consider necessary and worthy, and to greatly respect the essential workers whose job pre-pandemic were taken for granted.  Not anymore.

With the reality of the loss of lives, health, livelihoods and basically our whole way of life from a deadly epidemic, we can’t ignore any longer the systemic problems that allowed this terrible disease to rapidly spread.

It’s time to reconsider the value and purpose of a consumer culture, the nature and means of education, and shift to jobs that will help people and the planet and foster a new ethos of selflessness and community.   As a society, we need to cease segregating the elderly in assisted living facilities and nursing homes where a large percentage of the deaths from Covid have occurred.

For those of us older folks who can live independently for now,  the extreme dangers to our population from the epidemic leave us huddled in our homes tethered to Amazon and the Internet, fearful of going to the doctor unless it’s an emergency, hoping we stay well and free of toothaches,  praying for a vaccine that may not even help those who are older that much.  A very scary thought.

But I keep I keep getting  drawn back to the endless Covid-19 news.   The world revolves around getting this under control. A worse fate for the planet, catastrophic climate, has not gone away. But with Covid dominating everything, where is it in the news? Oh, now Antarctica is starting to melt quickly. Better go raise up the house.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 12, 2020

Very thoughtful entry.  I share your same concerns.

July 13, 2020

@wildrose_2   Thank you!

July 12, 2020

Life is indeed a different life than it was pre-pandemic. For me, it is one day at a time, even when those days run all into one day and I lose track.   I try to count my blessings every day, try to stay present and not spend too much time online > I don’t have a tv so that is actually a blessing. I get plenty of news.

July 13, 2020

@hearthkeeper   You have the right approach.  I spend way too much time on my phone reading, but I am a former journalist, and I want to keep informed (admittedly overly informed) through my carefully chosen list of media sites:  apps, Websites, saved articles, news sites, blogs, podcasts and the like.  Yes, it’s a bit overwhelming, but being retired and no longer caregiving, I have time to attend to these matters.  The days do tend to run into each other, but every morning I’m very thankful for what I have.

July 13, 2020

Must admit that I feel trapped with caregiver responsibilities.  My situation isn’t that bad since Mother is mentally quite good.  Her frailty is a concern and because of that I make her meals, clean her apartment, buy her supplies, give her baths, and generally look after her.  However I find it hard that I can’t go up to the Lake this summer due to Covid affecting our paid caregivers.  The Lake has been my refuge all my life.  Now it sits there empty, and I sit here.

July 13, 2020

@trunorth   Believe  me, I feel what you’re going through, and I admire your dedication.  You are very fortunate your mother is still mentally sound.   Travel for me is still a distant dream.  But someday I will take those long road trips I used to love to embark on.  Actually, since it’s just myself I could probably do it sooner rather than later, but the pandemic makes everything risky.  I have to ask myself if it’s worth it.  I wish there was some way you could get to the lake house for a few days.

July 13, 2020

As always a very insightful post, my friend.  I share many of your concerns.  I had hoped with the coming of summer that the heat might have stopped the Coronavirus in its tracks, but sadly, that did not happen. We’re still having many new cases daily in Arizona.

As for shopping… Amazon and I are best friends! 😊

July 13, 2020

@adrift   This is very true.  Heat has no effect on the virus.  And it’s getting very bad in SC.  I’m so glad I don’t have to be around people during this dangerous time.  Thank goodness for OD and Amazon!  🙂