Not all who wander are lost

I’m really ready to travel again.  Its been ages cooped up in the pandemic. Fairly frequently I used to go on 200-mile round trips in my state on weekends, but now that I’m retired, I can set my sights higher.  After all, there was a time in my 30s when I used to travel around the country every year.

So I’ve concocted a little fantasy/plan.  Instead of a hippie VW van, I would get a mini RV and plan to actually stay at campgrounds instead of a steady diet of Best Westerns, as nice as those are.  I’d still motel it, but at least at have some options, some alternatives.  Week-long trips sound good.  But I might want to stay at B&Bs, too.  Don’t want to rough it too much.

I’m old now and don’t care as much what I look like. I might just grow a short beard for the first time ever and let my hair grow longer than I ever had before, which wouldn’t be too long.  Not overdoing either but just to try something new.  Hmm… come to think of it…

And I think for fun, and to be a bit tacky, I’d plaster the back of my mini-van with bumper stickers. I got  a catalog in the mail full of them.  Here are a few I’m thinking of:

 

INSIDE EVERY OLD PERSON IS YOUNG PERSON WONDERING WHAT HAPPENED

Please forgive me; I was raised by wolves.

I’m marching to a different accordion.

The meaning of life is to find your gift.  The purpose of life is to give it away.

Where have all the hippies gone?

BOLDLY GOING NOWHERE

I’m experiencing life at 55 WTFs an hour!

NOT ALL WHO WANDER ARE LOST

I’M NOT LOST, I’M EXPLORING

IF YOU’RE HAPPY AND YOU KNOW IT, IT’S YOUR MEDS

I’M RETIRED, GO AROUND ME

COVIDIOTS:  Give me liberty and give me death

BOOKS CHANGE LIVES

Treehugging dirt worshiper

Do you keep hearing crazy voices?  Turn off
FOX NEWS

May the FOREST be with you!

PLANTS HEAL

That should be enough.  I’ll also throw in some peace and Mother Earth decals.

I’m pumped already.  Not only will I be traveling, but I’ll be getting my messages out there!  Brilliant!!

 

Log in to write a note
March 1, 2021

I was going to suggest the RVing! I’m not retired but I’m sooooo seriously considering getting a remote position and getting myself an RV and just start rolling thru the country.

PS: the definition of  “covidiot” varies within spheres  😉

March 3, 2021

@thenerve You should do it!  Ive decided I’m more likely to just get a new compact car and stay in nice B&Bs.  I need to be real good to myself in retirement!

March 1, 2021

I’m considering doing some traveling, and staying at Airbnb’s . I like your bumper sticker idea. Your title sounds like a Star Wars quote!

March 1, 2021

@catholicchristian  For me, it would be more like, “Let the Forest Be With You.”
😌🤔

March 1, 2021

I’ve often thought I’d like one of those “one piece” camper vans for traveling and for out-of-town acting gigs…until I saw the price! 😯

March 1, 2021

@solovoice  I know!!  That’s why this entry is largely a fantasy and rather pitiful pining away for my lost youth.  More likely  I’ll  get a grip and B&B it because life’s getting shorter and you cant take those meager savibgs we might have accumulated with us, as they say.   I’m too old for roughing it.  Lol  🤔