Reaction YouTubes and other hits for the Pandemic Afflicted

Yes, I watch a lot of YouTube videos.  I would not say I’m addicted, but if all the places on the Internet, including game sites which I never visit or play, YouTube is probably right at the top or near it for go-to information, enlightenment, entertainment or pure, non-stop mindless distraction and comic relief.  And we sure need it during this time of the pandemic.  The Internet is what’s keeping us sane and connected so that we can try to live some semblance of normal lives in these  crazy-scary times.

I include these:   video clips from  favorite shows from the 60s and 70s such as Carol Burnett Show sketches with Tim Conway and Harvey Kerman,  or a 12-minute compilation of Seinfeld’s George Costanza in his wildest and looniest moments.

Growing in popularity now are people doing Trump impersonations, such as this which are actually as good as  and more realistic than Alec Baldwin’s SNL sketches and Stephen Colbert’s masterful takeoff on A Late Show.

Here is J-L Cauvin:

 

https://youtu.be/8Aixo2t11Og

https://www.youtube.com/user/JLCauvin

 

Also growing in popularity are video renditions of popular songs that repurpose the lyrics to fight Covid 19.

This is a fantastic  one based on Petula Clark’s great hit from the 60’s “Downtown”:

 

https://youtu.be/L0NIZR_bLd0

 

And this one, an uncanny rendition of Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody:

 

https://youtu.be/9Eo9M4-BrJA

Then there are the endless cute animal and pet videos, how to do anything videos,educational sites, TMI health information, excellent sites for probing the depths of psychology and parapsychology (Jeffry Mishlove’s “New Thinking Allowed” and on and on.  It’s overwhelming.  It’s truly mind-boggling.  A feast.

 

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFk448YbGITLnzplK7jwNcw

But recently I’ve found another genre on YouTube that is utterly fascinating and, yes, addictive.  People have been rushing to add their reactions to famous and popular songs they’ve never heard before.  There are Web sites and videos that show you how to do this.  What I like best are when young people listen and react to some of the classic and mortal songs of the 60s and 70s.

Three of my all-time favorite artists who are considered to have arguably the finest voices and range in popular music recording history are  Bobby Hatfield of the Righteous Brothers,  Linda Ronstadt, and Jay Black of Jay and the Americans.

Black singing “Cara Mia” in 1965 at age 25  and again at age 72 with the same pitch and quality is thrilling to watch.

Hatfield singing “Unchained Melody” live on the Andy Williams Show in 1965 has 50 million views.  It’s one of my top 5 favorite songs.   The reaction video featuring TooSushi is priceless.  I’ve watched it I don’t know how many times.

There have been thousands of comments on this video, including these, and they really are no exaggeration:

“Bobby Hatfield could sing a song that would cut through a heart of stone.”

“One of the greatest vocal performances the world has ever witnessed or heard.  Perfect.”

I agree.

 

https://youtu.be/uju92qlDSXk

Finally, I’ve  always loved  Linda Ronstadt’s “Blue Bayou.”  What a soaring, majestic voice she had. Here is JayveeTV’s reaction.  I love it when people  hear such great songs for the first time and share their experiences through their thoughts and emotions while watching.  I love it.

 

https://youtu.be/JJslzrg8OGY

Log in to write a note
May 23, 2020

Linda Ronstadt once sang Mimi in La Boheme on Broadway with country singer Gary Morris. A friend of mine was in Morris’ band and rehearsed the arias with him. She was a good singer and a looker back in the day…

I watch a lot of aviation videos on YouTube as I am an armchair pilot and I watch Top Tenz, Hollywood Graveyard, and a number of retrospectives on classic TV shows.

May 23, 2020

@solovoice  There’s so much I’m interested in on YouTube I can’t even begin to comprehend it all.  Sometimes it seems as if the sum  of human culture in altered Internet form is here.  Definitely a medium for the 21st century.

May 23, 2020

I bought a Linda Ronstadt album just for the “Blue Bayou” song. I just love it. I don’t know how to feel about these Millennials “reviewing” the songs of our generation. But I guess it’s okay if they actually like them. I just think it’s a little bit weird and vain to film your own reactions. LOL! I’ve seen another Corona video with the Rhapsody. Also excellent.

As for the “crazy-scary times,” I’m not buying everything they’re selling. I believe in being reasonably careful (i.e., hand washing, keep hands from face, don’t stand too close to people), but other than that I’m leading a normal life without gloves and masks. It’s crazy (well, other people are LOL) for sure, but not scary. I refuse to live my life in fear. I do, however, spend WAY too much time on Facebook watching videos of different things.

May 23, 2020

@startingover_1  I find it fascinating to see the reactions of young people who genuinely seem amazed that there actually  was such great music produced by the old geezer baby boomers!  Lol.  Yes, a lot of them are jumping on the bandwagon because it’s cool, but I was  lucky to find two pretty good reactors!

I’m afraid it really is very, very scary what we’re seeing.  Totally unprecedented.  Nothing remotely like it in my lifetime. All you have to have is one asymptomatic transmitter in a choral rehearsal with 60 singers, where he infects 49 of them and 2 die.  Others are in intensive care.  This is a vicious and very contagious virus.  We can’t not live our lives, but we need to be super vigilant,  in my opinion.  I never  being in groups of any size anyway and restaurants were never my thing so I really don’t need to go out and be the mindless consumer I once was.

Fear, no.  Extreme caution until there is a vaccine, YES!

 

 

May 23, 2020

You would like Lisa Gerrard.  This is truly a performance to behold.