Smiles and tears flow from one source

Laugh, and the world laughs with you;
Weep, and you weep alone;
For the sad old earth must borrow its mirth,
But has trouble enough of its own.
Sing, and the hills will answer;
Sigh, it is lost on the air;
The echoes bound to a joyful sound,
But shrink from voicing care…

Look up
Rejoice, and men will seek you;
Grieve, and they turn and go;
They want full measure of all your pleasure,
But they do not need your woe.
Be glad, and your friends are many;
Be sad, and you lose them all,—
There are none to decline your nectared wine,
But alone you must drink life’s gall.

Ella Wheeler Cox
From “Solitude”

When I first read this 40 years ago (I know because I taught it in my English classes), I was a young newbie teacher and accepted the premise of the poem pretty much at face value.

Decades later, however, the many passing years since have produced a bit of curmudgeon, and slightly grouchy old man. But a much wiser man at 71 than I was at 31, even though I had already experienced devastatingly hard times. I have a somewhat different spin now, or rather, an additional way of looking at the poem, which I wish to share.

It’s true that a smile can melt your heart and produce intense feelings of well-being, even if fleetingly. “Laughter is the best medicine,” as the popular saying goes.

But sadness and melancholy are as much a part of the human condition as smiles and laughter. If someone turns away from me when I’m grieving, they weren’t the friend I imagined them to be. If I’m depressed and people run from me, I don’t want or need them in my life.

The truest test of friendship is when someone not only is there when you need them no matter what, but also is a loyal and long-lasting friend who knows you as well as you’ve allowed any other mortal to know you. I can count on two hands the number of these kinds of friends I have held onto over the decades.

I treasure the true friends I have. I’m glad they are still there for me even when I’ve gone through a prolonged period of depression or we have been out of touch for a tender period and then have re-connected.

So it’s not true that “alone you must drink life’s gall,” because in spirit with your real friends, you are never alone.

Log in to write a note
April 22, 2022

your new spin is what we see, also.  Even more, though, the poem is wrong because it would advise the young to, themselves, turn away from the pain.  This is where the lessons are, I think.  For is it not true that Grace can be learned through both winning AND losing well?  And is not losing the easiest to find?

April 22, 2022

@cygnusx-1 Absolutely.  I believe we gain much more wisdom through suffering that if we were going through life with no purifying pain and hardship.

April 22, 2022

Sadly, this is the case with a lot of people which is why I have only one really good friend…my best friend.  I got tired of people who claimed to be my friend only actually being a true friend when I was happy and in a good place.  As soon as I was down and really needing a friend they were nowhere to be found.  For a long time I chose to just not have friends because I couldn’t stand being around “friends” who I knew would turn their backs on me at the first sign of trouble.  Even family, I found, would not be available when I needed them.  I am grateful for my one true friend that I have now and that’s all I need.  Better one true friend who you know is going to be there for good and bad than a lot of friends who will turn their backs on you.

April 22, 2022

@happyathome You are blessed indeed to have that one true friend.  With a friend like that there are no ifs, ands or buts — you both know where you stand, and the bond is unbreakable, though it will be tested, of course.

Amen. I always did find that poem depressing.

April 22, 2022

@sambucathedestroyer It’s amazing how one’s views and outlook change over the years.

April 23, 2022

How very true Oswego!  As we get older, I think our friendships deepen and mature, and then the bonds are so strong we’er always there for one another.  The fair weather friends have pretty much dropped away and the few friends who are left are worth their weight in gold!