Spring lets the soul soar and gladdens the heart

The virus is now a pandemic, the stock market has tanked, schools are closing and were all supposed to be practicing extremely good hand-washing routines and social distancing. It’s a scary new world we’ve entered: uncharted territory — terra incognito. It’s doubly concerning if you’re over a certain age and tend to be a bit paranoid about your health as well as germaphobic in normal times. Yes, everything seems more than slightly surreal. I’m fighting off this fearful feeling in the pit of my stomach. Why this? I’ve just lost my mother, I’m grieving and now a pandemic.

But you know there’s something going on that gives me great hope and a feeling of calm. It’s Spring and it couldn’t possibly be more beautiful here. For the past two weeks the azaleas in the parks and gardens, and all over our city, have been gracing us with their spectacular displays of color — white, pink, lavender, deep reds. It’s like entering a magical land where the sun always shines upon the earth, and the warmth and renewal of a new season make the soul joyful, fleetingly but gloriously. I soak it up, I revel in it, I thank God for this great gift, this miracle of Spring. I’ve been to all our famous gardens, and the large city park near me with its huge oaks just leafing out and its gardens brimming with roses, camellias and many other flowers.

As I came up close to some of the azaleas in the park to photograph them the other day, I gently touched a very delicate petal and was astonished anew at how utterly soft, beautiful and fragile it was. They are slightly opaque, so when backlit by the sun you can see up-close hundreds of tiny little crystal orbs of light as sunlight passes through. I’ve always considered this one of Nature’s miraculous little displays, sadly mostly overlooked, but there are many of them, especially in Spring. Spring, a time for hope and rebirth, a time for setting aside the troubles and anxieties of this wounded and threatened earthly existence.

I found a poem by one of my favorite poets, William Wordsworth, and I’m posting it here. It’s a poem of gratitude for Nature and all its blessings, but a cautionary poem also, with a message that easily applies to what we’re going through today.

 

Lines Written in Early Spring

By William Wordsworth

 

I heard a thousand blended notes,

While in a grove I sat reclined,

In that sweet mood when pleasant thoughts

Bring sad thoughts to the mind.

To her fair works did Nature link

The human soul that through me ran;

And much it grieved my heart to think

What man has made of man.

 

Through primrose tufts, in that green bower,

The periwinkle trailed its wreaths;

And ’tis my faith that every flower

Enjoys the air it breathes.

The birds around me hopped and played,

Their thoughts I cannot measure:

But the least motion which they made

It seemed a thrill of pleasure.

 

The budding twigs spread out their fan,

To catch the breezy air;

And I must think, do all I can,

That there was pleasure there.

If this belief from heaven be sent,

If such be Nature’s holy plan, Have I not reason to lament

What man has made of man?

 

 

Log in to write a note
March 18, 2020

Lovely pictures and poem. Spring is a magical time. 🙂

March 18, 2020

@albatrosswing  Thank you!  I only wish Spring would last longer.

March 18, 2020

So lovely! All is well my friend. Rest in God’s hands. Have faith. Hug

March 18, 2020

@snarkle Thank you!  We must have faith we will get past this.

March 18, 2020

What a beautiful entry! Thank you.

March 18, 2020

Hi Oswego 🙂 Nice to see your lovely photos and entry now that I am back again at OD. Yes, Spring is a blessing. Even if staying at home most of the time, we can go to nearby parks and trails and ponds. Watching ducklings reminds us of the hope in each moment.

March 20, 2020

@timita  It was so nice to see your note.  Happy that you’re back at OD.  I took a long and brisk walk at our big city park this afternoon.  So therapeutic and life-enhancing.

Stay well and safe!

March 18, 2020

Beautiful.

March 18, 2020

Gorgeous pics. It’s spring here, too, fruit trees in spectacular bloom. We are all on shelter in place here. Only supposed to go out to get food. Scary indeed.

April 4, 2020

@bonnierose I hope you’re doing well.  Before caregiving I lived a fairly solitary life, especially inwardly, so I am adapting. I’m extremely grateful to OD and PB.

March 29, 2020

I love, love LOOOOOVE those pictures… and that poem is beautiful, yet sadly true.  Please don’t stress so much about COVID – the media is spinning it in its favor, and not reporting everything they should, like the huge amounts of folks that have recovered, just to name one. Just follow good hygiene and inform yourself well about what COVID actually is and how it IS and is not spread, spore survival span, etc., and relax a bit. I think your Mom sent you flowers to that effect  😉   <3

April 4, 2020

@thenerve  Thanks so much for the compliments about the photos.  I hope they bring people cheer in these terribly difficult times.

I’m trying to keep as informed as I can and keep safe.  A solitary life is nothing new to me, and thanks to the Internet, I can keep connected socially.

Take care, and keep well and safe.