The beauty of Spring temporarily pushes aside the pandemic

This is the time of year in Charleston when I am so high on Spring beauty and Nature in all its glory that I feel like pinching myself to make sure it’s all real. The azaleas are in full bloom, and our parks and gardens are lit up this week with their red, pink and white blooms. Everywhere you see them, but they are particularly gorgeous at the gardens and parks near me, which are full of both camellias and azaleas, and large very ancient bushes that are huge. Imagine almost every square inch of these tall and wide shrubs filled with flowers. But the grand show is fleeting and will only last another week or so. I have to hurry and get to as many of the parks and gardens as possible.

Here is the first set of photos from Magnolia Gardens taken last Wednesday.

Yesterday, I went to the state park about ten minutes from where I live, and, as I told some one in a text, I wandered in a “happy daze” along the path in the gardens and among among all the azaleas, coming in occasionally with my camera to look at and photograph the flowers closeup. What a miraculous gift! I’m always thankful to have made it another year to be able to witness am Spring unfolding again, truly the season of rebirth, for both me and the natural world around me.

Spring unfolds at Magnolia Gardens:

https://www.flickr.com/gp/camas/6Z799D

Log in to write a note
March 29, 2021

Beautiful flora. 🙂 I love the purple bleeding hearts. 🙂

March 29, 2021

@moonshinemollie  Thank you!  I really enjoy photographing flowers.

March 30, 2021

@oswego You are very talented. 🙂

March 29, 2021

Oh, I love the flowers, so beautiful!  And that tree with the kid walking past it is a great shot. Really emphasizes the size of that tree!

March 29, 2021

@startingover_1  Thank you!  I was really pleased with the way that one came out.  Live oaks are so amazing.