There’s a number out there

Lots of swirling emotions and fighting off feeling depressed by all the bad news in the world.  The Texas shooting has preoccupied me as I try futilely to understand how such a monstrous event can happen.  It’s like the country has learned no lessons from the past.

I wrote this comment about an entry by fellow diarist, gypsy spirit, who lives far away in New Zealand. So many of us all over the world are trying to comprehend, at least in some small but significant way, the enormity of what occurred last week.

Here’s is what I said, edited, and with some additional comments. Almost a week later, my anger and shock are still fresh. And I read and I read about it, to the point where I know it’s not healthy to do this, but yet… “What?” “How?” “How?” “Why?”

We here in the US live in a country mired in gun violence and a gun ownership mentality based in large part on the fear that infects a large percent of our population. I can’t even imagine touching something as evil as a gun, let alone use one. The people who manufacture those assault style weapons bear responsibility as well as the murderers who use them in mass shootings.

I wish I had more answers, but I am ashamed to live in a country with a gun and violence mentality such as ours. The rest of the world must consider us barbaric when they see innocent children slaughtered like that gunman did in Texas. It happens with much greater frequency than any other place in the world. And it keeps happening. Hundreds of mass shootings a year in this country.

I am afraid that not much will change until there is a change in the hearts and minds of those who support purchase and ownership of such horrible weapons. I really think this country is regressing in an evolutionary sense in that it can produce such evil-minded individuals. Of course this country was built on guns and violence. We’ve become a toxic culture.

I urge you if you have some time to watch at least the beginning of this video podcast by Michael Moore. I know there are many who dislike him intensely for his “in your face” views, but if you listen to him, you realize that he is a passionate and highly intelligent truth teller. He tells us things we don’t want to hear, and I am referring the entire political spectrum. He doesn’t fling propaganda. He tells it like it is. He’s been trying for more than 20 years to bring some sense and action for change on the gun issue.

This piece is provocatively titled, “I know there’s a number.”

https://www.michaelmoore.com/p/i-know-theres-a-number?s=r

Despite everything, I’m trying to focus on the good, and my photography helps immeasurably in keeping my spirits up.  On days when I might not feel like noticing the beauty around me, the camera insists that I do so, and I am the better for it.

Log in to write a note
May 31, 2022

I want to listen to this but am going to wait until I am by myself.  My son, Landon, keeps talking and asking me questions about it…I will let you know how I feel about it after I listen to it.  Thanks for sharing it.

May 31, 2022

@happyathome I’m glad you are listening to it.  It’s one of the most powerful things I’ve ever listened to.

Gun violence in Canada isn’t as bad as the US…. but still… the Uvalde shootings are a lesson to be learned. 🙁 A sore lesson, but a lesson nonetheless.

May 31, 2022

@sambucathedestroyer It’s not NEARLY as bad.  The US is by far the gun capital of the world.

@oswego it’s really sad 😢

June 17, 2022

I’m the same way — the senseless killing just sickens me.  I’ve signed numerous petitions to have our gun laws tightened, but of course you know that won’t happen as long as the Rethuglians control the Senate.  “Nearly two-thirds of Americans support moderate or strong regulations of gun ownership, including 53% of Republicans” but still we can’t get improved gun legislation.   That’s deeply disturbing to me.