What a beautiful world!

Two recent sunset photos taken about a week apart at two of my favorite sunset locations near where I live.

 

I just had to share these pictures with you that I took recently with my iPhone   At both locations very close to where I live, there are often gorgeous sunsets to behold and photograph, but not too often are they this spectacular.  Both were just mind-boggling.  I stared at them in disbelief and childlike wonder.

Every sunset is so different, but there are few sights or phenomena on this precious planet as awe-inspiring as sunsets and waterfalls.

Unfortunately, I’m far from waterfalls here along the Atlantic coast, but I can look blissfully and longingly at sunsets.

In the second picture, taken at one of our city parks, you will notice that the people in the photo are going about their business as if nothing unusual is happening above them in the sky.  Maybe they glanced at that miraculous display of light and color briefly, but maybe not at all.  It only lasted a few minutes.  I would expect everyone to be looking up at those clouds just as I was doing.  Not so.  What a shame!

While looking at the waterfront sunset I heard a young couple say, “A gift for Thanksgiving!”  I texted someone earlier telling them that it was one of the most intensely colorful sunsets I’d ever seen, like one of those deep red sunsets you see in the Arizona deserts.

Way back in the very cold winter of 1979 when I was deep in the darkest period of depression I’d ever experienced, before or since, I was at a fast food restaurant, having made an effort of will to get out of the house to order something to eat.  There was a sunset outside just at the time I was there.  A woman next to me in the next line at the counter, said to me, “How can anyone doubt the existence of God when you see a sunset like that?”  How true!

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 23, 2018

I love sunsets and sunrises. We get some pretty spectacular ones here. Of course, you have to be up early to see them. And not have a giant building blocking your only window. I haven’t seen a decent sunrise since the divorce. That’s one thing I truly miss. From my old house, we had a spectacular view of the mountains and the sunrises. I must have taken a hundred pictures over the years.

November 25, 2018

Both sunsets are stunning, but that first one is breathtaking.

I’m always looking at the sky.  It’s always there, but ever changing.

November 30, 2018

I have to agree that both are stunning…and the first is my favorite.   🙂