A safe place

In my day to day life I meet a lot of teenagers, or I used to, now that I’m on (supposed) vacation from my job, I have much less occasion to interact with them, and that’s sad.
With many of them I’ve created a solid frienship, that has been going on for over a year now, and a couple of them have begun to see me as some sort of older brother, and I think that’s nice.

So this is why I’ve announced to my co-workers that I intend to create a safe-space for many of this kid where they can openly say everything they feel.
They do so with me already, so why not make it somewhat official?

I wish to clarify that I’m not a psychologist, so I’m not going to give that kind of advices to them, I’m going to do what I do best, listen quietly, and give some encouragement when needed.

My dream job is to be an High School teacher because I want to help kids of that age to deal with the struggles that being a teen brings, because it sucks.
My teen years have been rather calm, but I’ve seen many friends struggle, and it broke my heart to see them so, and I know that many other kids that age need help, and I want to help them.

So this is pretty much it.

Log in to write a note
January 2, 2021

Hugs