2/17/01

I am frustrated right now.

I just got off the phone with my sister about the farm. She wants to do something with it.

Okay, when my father passed away, we three siblings formed an LLC as a way to continue to hold onto the assets, without the hassle of dividing up the property between us, etc (the holdings are in 3 counties, and vary greatly in size and value).

One of the properties was his residence, and we have rented it out for the past several years. This, and pasture rents, have been our source of income.

The residence is an old single-wide trailer, which my father bought when it was significantly better, and towed it out there. He also built a pole-barn (huge) largely by hand, and largely by himself.

My siblings, the three of us, and my niece (who was named in the will) are the “board” of the LLC. By majority vote, the LLC has been paying out 100% of the earnings on the property after taxes each year.

Now, we are in a situation where our current tenants are less than caring for the property. The trailer is reaching the end of its useful life span (as a residence). The tenants have destroyed the essential asthetic of the interior, and the land adjacent to the home.

Meanwhile, the barn itself sits unpowered. Since there is no alarm, it is looted frequently (possibly by the tenants) and so is currently not used for any practical purpose.

Despite instructions to the contrary in the Lease, the tenants have started using it themselves, which increases liability for all involved.

Now, NOW, my sibling comes to me to ask, what do you think we should do about the farm?

I ranted!! I have run my own business for 5 years. I voted against a 100% payout, suggesting instead keeping all the earnings within the LLC so we would have liquid assets to increase our business, or at least to invest further for later improvements.

I suggested shortly after dad passed away that a great use of the property would be as a commercial residential/recreational area, and that we ought to pursue the property immediately south, and try buying the whole quarter section.

Since then, guess what? Release of neighboring lands from an ancient trust has spurred housing development all around us. No one will let go of land now, because they want it for business reasons, not farming.

I said we need to fix up the shop in the barn to make it a place where people (friends, family, and myself) will want to spend time. Using the shop for repairs or workspace, using the “barn area” for social gatherings, etc…. anything to a) increase the visit by “good” people who will defend the property, and b) facilitate the shop as a viable operations base.

Currently, I rent a storage locker on the edge of the City, where I store all of the tools used for maintaining the property. Its half an hour from the property. Its the only place safe to store things.

So again, I answer with “We need to fix up the shop, make it secure and useful. Then other ventures will build from there.” I answer with, “we should secure a construction loan while the rates are low and build a home that integrates with the natural beauty of the site. This could be rented for significantly more!” I answer with “we should still consider the possibility of securing the land south of the property for future development”.

“I just don’t think thats realistically possible.”

No, no, of course not. No one has ever done anything like any of those things before. Why, only a fool would do something like that.

Argh.

Lack of vision, thats what it is.

I expect that we will sell the property, because we “wont be able to agree”. And, you watch and see if the new buyer doesn’t do some if not all the things I suggested. Okay, actually, he wouldnt. He’d divide it into to 3 acre plots and build extremely expensive houses.

Just needed to vent. I feel much better now, really.

Its a question of stewardship for me. For the past several years, our LLC has been nothing more than slum lords. And NOW we suddenly don’t have any options.

I say we do something great for the community. Do something great for God! If nothing else, make it the most beautiful piece of pasture in the area. And when people ask why? We can say “for the glory of God!”

Do you think that would be blessed? You bet it would! Is the point to do something that would be blessed? No. But running a slum farm is hardly to God’s glory.

I say we build an attractive bi-level home out of native materials, with partial earth integration, that shows off the view from the property without destroying that view for those looking AT our property.

Set it up with a small private residence, and the rest of the property. The single resident lives there for free, in return for simple chores and managing the upstairs property.

The upstairs property could be rented out on an annual basis. But might better be leased on a monthly basis for families transitioning to the area, or on a weekly basis as a retreat. A bed-n-breakfast sort of venture.

Sure, thats three different business ideas, each with its own issues, but the beauty is being able to offer lodging for free to somebody. To help them out. We can also make the retreat or b&b clearly a Christian enterprise.

We can make the shop into a place for doing woodworking or auto repair. People who have the skills but not the space could lease time. Not alot of money, just to help with the upkeep. What an opportunity to serve an unreached market. Helping people who might not otherwise be able to pursue those interests.

Okay, i feel much better now. I just needed to get these ideas out of my head and my heart. I think we have a wonderful opportunity to help people out. Do something for charity. Do something for love. Do something for God.

Log in to write a note

I am partial to the “transition residence” of your idea! What a wonderful idea to help people relocating, getting back on their feet, etc……. Simply a beautiful idea……If I was sis, I’d be your strongest advocate!

Don’t you hate that! When you are right and no one will listen!?! I feel for ya. Take care, xoxo ~