Chewing…

Extending on the last entry:

My church doesn’t have much by way of a singles ministry. We are not large enough to have a “population” of singles. We have a great young marrieds ministry, great teen ministry, great children’s ministry. We have a quiet but strong senior adult ministry, an active women’s ministry….and while men don’t really have a ministry directed at them, they are expected to participate in the other task based ministries, and also in the general ministry of the church.

That leaves “young adult ministry”. For the most part, college students and beyond are simply considered “adults” and lumped into general adult ministries. The general adult ministries are something I don’t participate in due to my role as leader of technical support services. Plus, even when I do, I feel…generalized – there are TOO many people in the group. That or I feel outcast, because I tend to see things very differently than others.

In the past, I have participated in the Young Adult discipleship classes. But, since we’ve gone to concurrent worship/discipleship, I can’t attend a class. Plus, they are not offering a Young Adult class right now, anyway.

That brings me to this Thursday evening young adult group.

The problem here is, I am far and away the oldest person there. It doesn’t bother me in general; I mean, I go to be with people who’s company I enjoy, and who share Christianity with me. On the other hand, *chuckling* there are many young women I am interested in. Mind you, at this point, after just one outing, it is just “interest”, but, what if it goes further?

Okay, good, the writing is helping: “so what if it goes further” – thats not your real question, Parra. If it goes further, its because the other person is also interested in going futher, and age isn’t a factor for them, either. Fine. What I was hesitant over is “public perception”, which again I know better of. The heart of my concern is that years ago I was banned from my youth group over politics. But the agressors used “age” as a devisive issue. I guess, here what, 15 years later, I am still sensitive to that injury.

Good, I’m glad I wrote this and figured it out. Now I can deal with it as it happens. Thank you.

Log in to write a note

1980? Sounds good to me…does she have a phone number?