Ride

Saturday I rode my “birthday bike ride” on the Indian Creek trail system in the suburbs of Major Metro Center. The ride kicked my butt!!

I didn’t camp this year because there was a forecast for rain, and I don’t have the time in my schedule to deal with a wet tent. Nor the space in my garage, really. Instead I drove up Saturday morning — oversleeping beyond my desired departure time from here, of course — rode it, and returned home in the same day.

The way I approach the ride is based on how Trynity introduced it to me (or me to it) years ago, which is to start from Roe Park, ride the northeastern trail network, then crossing back through Roe Park, and riding the southwestern length.

As it is a linear park system, I end up riding out AND back over the entire length of the system (with one exception in Leawood, where I can bypass about 100 yards by taking a horse trail). Thus for every mile of trail in the system, I ride two.

This year, when I rode northeast, I discovered one spur had been lengthened by almost 3 miles, and the Tomahawk spur had been extended to I-don’t-know-where. It ended with a tot-lot in the middle of some homogenous wealthy-class neighborhood, that’s all I know. In any case, I estimate that the new editions added at least 10 miles to my total ride.

That’s kinda bad. Coupled with the fact that since I didn’t actually start riding until 9:50am on what became a rather hot day, that’s markedly bad. Noting that I have done no other riding this whole season…and you can see where this is going!

I was hot, but not quite tired, as I rolled back through Roe Park. Knowing that the southwest portion from Roe is the longest portion, I almost aborted right there. But I’m glad I didn’t. Instead I rode onward, only to quit at the Taco Bell where the trail crosses under Sante Fe, and where I needed lunch.

At that point, I was heat-fatigued heading toward exertional heat-stroke. I hadn’t packed a lunch like I have in the past, there are no accessible restaurants from this point south, and honestly, I needed the air-conditioning.

I felt much better after cooling down and fooding-up, but decided against finishing the last 2 miles or so of trail. As it was, my total body stamina was doing fine for my “normal” condition: I am hypovolemic due to chronic dehydration, so my legs were beginning to scream from the acidosis which I was inadequately flushing. My knees were occasionally painful, but that was a result of my compensating for the number one, nay, the only significant problem I was having (next to the general heat-exhaustion), and that is…

Saddle sores.

Having not been on my bike all year, and not much over the past few, I’ve lost my hardened butt padding. Four hours of riding and you begin to be very sensitive to this kind of thing! I was holding myself up off my seat slightly as I rode, increasing the loading on my knees, and the workout in my thighs.

All in all, I maintained a 12-14 mph average, peaking at 16-18 in the first hour and dropping 2 mph/ph until I stopped for lunch at 1pm. On the way back, over the next hour until I reached my car, I saw a similar peak and dropoff greatly accellerated. However, a day later, and I feel great except for a slight sensitivity in my knees. No real stiffness, and only the lingering effects of heat-exhaustion.

Highlights:

  • Finding the trail extensions. Trynity would not recognize the Tomahawk section; I couldn’t even FIND where the trail use to cut through the backyards right up against the creek..
  • How friendly the Leawood people were, and how plastic the other neighborhood people seemed.
  • The scruffy man and his gorgeous daughter, sitting on the bench at the windmill by State Line, who offered me donuts as I rode past.
  • At the Tomahawk tot-lot, these amazing middle-schoolish students (brothers and sister) who made students in my home town seem very pathetic. On a Saturday morning, these three kids were hanging out in the shade of the shelterhouse DISCUSSING MATH formulas for converting Celcius to Farenheit. They even started quizzing each other on it. I can’t even spell it!! They also spontaniously played catch with another family’s toddler. It was very neat to watch how these kids behaved.
  • The cleanliness of the Shell station at Roe Park. Everything in this neighborhood was pristine and gentle. And safe. I could have left my truck unlocked in the Roe lot, and I would probably have found flowers or money added to my vehicle! Its just that kind of place.
  • The manager at Taco Bell who told me his life story. He wouldn’t be quiet long enough for me to place the order with the cashier. He wasn’t rude, and actually joked, after I entered the store clearly heat exhausted, by saying, “I’m sorry. We’re closed,” completely deadpan and waited until I started laughing before he even flinched. Then he stood at my table holding a short stack of trays and talked for 30 minutes while I ate. Amazing.
  • The friendly (not plastic)local who encouraged me with, “Keep at it! You can do it!!” as he passed me heading in the opposite direction while I was cranking it in granny gear up one of two very steep sections of the trail. “Thanks, but it was soo much more fun going the other way,” I replied.
  • Having a fawn stop on the trail 50 feet in front of me and look at me curiously. I slowed down, and she didn’t step off the trail until I coasted past the spot where she was standing. I enjoyed several seconds of being within 10 feet as I swept through our relative tangent arc.
  • Being impressed with the new trailwork alongside the interstate, where they improved the exit ramps. Also, looking forward to seeing both the rampwork and trailwork complete. The city as a whole really embraces the needs of trail users. It is noted and appreciated.

When I finished my ride, I called Jill. Jill is someone I met through eHarmony, and we’ve IMed and emailed, but haven’t met yet. I was calling to see if a meeting were possible while I was in town.

While waiting for her return call, I sat and watched little-league soccer on the practice fields at Roe Park.

That was a hoot. *grin*

Jill was out with her mom for her mom’s birthday, so I washed my truck at the Shell station (leaving my bike, unlocked, in front of the store while I waited around back for my turn in the washer). Then I headed home. It was a great day overall.

Log in to write a note
October 8, 2007

I always love the way you see things and convey them so perfectly in words. Miss seeing you here.

I have just sat here and savoured ever word, rereading several lines, not wanting to end the passage. It has been too long my dear friend *****HUGS***** I missed your birthday :o( HAPPY HAPPY EARLY NEXT YEARS BIRTHDAY :o)) **********HUGS***********

October 18, 2007

I ack I”m living very near Leawood now, wish I would have known you were gonna be “in town”. Of course, I should have mentioned: I moved back to the KC area in August.

October 21, 2007

RYN: My mother and I do nothing but spat when we talk on the phone it seems. Everyone says it because we’re too similar but really she’s just way too dramatic and after 22 years I’ve gotten fed up with dealing. heh And of course you know a guy like that, doesn’t everyone? ~_^ Of course they’re either married or a gazillion miles away, haha.