Testimoney

[ from a solicited testimony, delivered to my church Sunday morning, November 25th. This text is a combination of my written notes, and my actual spoken words]

[whispered] look everyone, he’s wearing pants!

[a couple of sniggles from the congregation, but not nearly the laughs I was expecting]

Good morning!

My name is blank. I’ve been worshipping at Fairlawn Heights for nigh-on 15 years. During that time, I’ve been pretty much involved in some aspect of techincal support over that whole time. During that time, I’ve also developed a reputation for wearing shorts. [uproarious laughter, and ovation] But today, I’d like to talk to you about stewardship and tithing.

I’ve never earned a lot of money, or had what I’d consider a large income. After college, I worked at a lot of different temp- and part-time jobs, until I saved up enough money to buy the computer equipment I needed to start my own business. That business, once started, I basically ran at a loss. And that was my intent, to put high-quality graphic design into the hands of businesses and individuals who otherwise wouldn’t be able to afford it. I deliberately undervalued my services.

Times weren’t always tight. Some months were better than others. Some years were better than others. And when my train came in, everybody rode.

I consider myself a fairly generous person. What I’m not good at is budgeting and consistency. When money was around – I shared. Not so much tithing as much as offerings. If there was a need in the church, and I knew about it, and I had some income – I’d just go buy it. The same for my friends. It was not uncommon for me to buy lunch for everyone if the money was in my account.

So instead of tithing, I gave offerings. And if I couldn’t predict my income from week to week, I gave from what I could control, what I could predict – I tithed my time. I tithed my service. I gave of my skills, my talents. This was, after all, the more important, the more precious resource anyway, right? Essentially, I “played my drum for Him”, and for along time, it was enough.

Then, God moved me on to a new venture.

When I started the new salaried job I have currently, I had acquired a serious debt load. I wasn’t worried though. I knew I’d soon be rich, [with exaggeration, cynical] working for the blank! [hearty laughter from congregation]

Seriously though, I had something I’d never had before – a regular, steady income. I believed God had put me in this job so I could pay off my debts. I still had trouble with budgeting, however. Believe it or not, I actually found it worked best for me to delay payments to given collectors for 3 months, then making one lump-sum payment. This way, I kinda rolled my paycheck from one company to the next. [shaking my head] It wasn’t pretty.

And still, I wasn’t tithing. I “thought” that the money belonged to the collectors. I “thought” that the money wasn’t mine to give. I “thought” that God had gave me this job to get out of debt . . . But it wasn’t working.

Well, about a year or so ago, Pastor Ed gave a sermon on stewardship, on tithing. He had spoke on it before – and will again – but this time I heard words I needed to hear. Have you ever been listening to the sermon or listening to someone speak when suddenly some part of the words just kinda hit you in the forehead like a beam of light meant just for you?[nods and agreement from congregation] Well, thats what happened.

What he said was, “when you are in debt, thats when you most need to tithe”. The reason, as I remember, was because of the blessing that comes from it.

Pastor Ed said other things that morning, but those beams of light were meant for other people. [chuckles from congregation] I had heard what I needed to hear. It was enough for me.

So with my very next paycheck, I wrote out my tithe. Then I paid a few bills, I ate and drank, I bought a few toys. Two weeks later, same thing: I gave my tithe, paid some other bills, played some. And again…

I was doing all this on faith, mind you. But after three months, I called the bank to confirm my balance. After all, I had stopped receiving overdraft notices from the bank, and I wanted to know why! [laughter]

Low and behold, I had a positive balance. And for the longest period ever. For a long time.

Since I began this adventure, God has been faithful, and so have I. I have enought money for all my needs and most of my wants. I still enjoy the moment, especially if there’s food involved. [chuckling from congregation] Oh! And – I am sending monthy payments to my collectors, in amounts large enough to actually gain some significant ground. [murmurs of agreement and support]

I haven’t made any other changes in my financial life. I still do not balance my checkbook. My written budget simply shows which bills I pay from which pay period. I tell you that to say – the blessings in my financial life are not from anything I’ve done, they are coming from God – because I finally decided to honor Him with my tithe.

And THAT is why God put me in my new job.

Thank you.

[applause]

Log in to write a note

thanx for telling me about Ty, we talk every evening and i was worried. aw. i’m a dork. but thank you none the less. =) he told me heh had heard rumors about the backruptcy, and he was pissed because he doesnt have a phone line in his apartment, so getting access would be a pain. good luck to Ty. nice diary, and thank you again. . *T*

Good for you! God bless

December 10, 2001

I wish I could find a church I liked…. sighs.

RYN: What about Naomi? _tyler_