01/04/2014

  • Days are moving inevitably toward the surgery. I am not worried. I am sleeping well although I am having "anxiety dreams." They are, as always, about teaching a class I have never met before and being totally unprepared! In real life this has never happened to me since I was, if anything, always over-prepared for my classes!
  • I have decided I am channeling Fred!  When I was sneezing and blowing my nose a lot a few days ago, I was using one of his cloth handkerchiefs that I found in the pocket of a vest of his and washed. I was delighted to find out how soft it was so I bought myself a few. Men’s of course since women’s handkerchief all seem to have embroidery on them. 
  • I am really enjoying "Dexter" on Netflix although last night I felt a bit Dextered out so I turned to the last year of "Red Dwarf." It was not as good as the episodes in the previous years but I still got a guffaw or two out of it.
  • I think I mentioned Jake and I have exchanged coffee tables? His is considerably smaller than mine which is why I wanted it. A problem I have now is that all the "stuff" that was on the big table is now in a big box sitting on the table and waiting for me to put all this stuff away! Well, since some of it is a few bills, I am planning to pay those and after that, I will put the other stuff–mostly books, away, too.
  • This reminds me that there are two bags of recyclables on the passenger seat of my car. I took trash to the dumpster a couple of days ago but the dumpster bin for recyclables was full to overflowing. I collect my recyclables in green {what else? } bags which are strategically arranged around  the apartment and then I carry them to the dumpster and empty the bags and take them home with me. We DO have to bag the none-recyclables but it is not required for the recyclables.
  • My tiny Christmas cactus has one flower bud on it. I check it every morning in hopes of a second one!

 

 

If you are distressed by anything external, the pain is not due to the thing itself, but to your estimate of it; and this you have the power to revoke at any moment. — Marcus Aurelius

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 4, 2014

I like handkerchiefs, too.

January 4, 2014

I have MUCH stuff waiting to be put away….some of it in boxes but most of it just in piles! I keep thinking I ought to do something about that! I wonder why women ever thought it would be a good thing, to embroider flowers or something on a cloth they were later going to blow their noses on?! hugs, Nicky

January 4, 2014

My Christmas cactus has two buds on it. It usually has far more.

I have only seen a few episodes of Dexter. Maybe it will be my next Netflix marathon. I am happy that the surgery will soon be behind you. That seems like a lot of burden to carry around.

I never used a handkerchief to blow my nose. I didn’t like the idea of having to wash that stuff out. I don’t suppose I’d have that choice if it were pre-tissue days.