11/20/2012

  • Today I made a pot of red beans and rice. It was absolutely delicious. I, of course, made too much, but I will eat the rest tomorrow.
  • Today I also gave away Fred’s two Hugo walkers on Freecycle. I was actually surprised that so many people wanted them but they both went to people who were excited to get them and were eager to tell me about the people who were getting to use them. Of course, they might have been lying to me and were going to sell them on Craig’s List but I don’t think so.
  • I got my car back today. I called AAA a week or so ago to start it and on Sunday the same thing happened. This time I called my friendly neighborhood mechanic who took it for a day and a half, recharged the battery and checked the alternator. He said there was nothing wrong with the battery that driving a bit more wouldn’t help! He is a nice guy and didn’t charge me anything for his time. When I was talking to him on the phone, he asked me how Fred was, and I was sorry to have to tell him about Fred’s death. He and Fred got on well together.
  • I can’t believe what the date is. In less than a month, I will be heading out to MS to spend Christmas with my older son and his wife and then I will go on to NC and my younger son. While I am there, I am going to look some more at apartments and make a definite decision, one that has a date attached to it!
  • I hope everyone who celebrates it has a nice Thanksgiving.

Fear not for the future, weep not for the past.

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English Poet

Be yourself. Everyone else is taken.

– Oscar Wilde

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Roger

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 20, 2012

Is it literally just red beans and rice – what else do you put in it? I’d like to have a bash at it but I’m no cook so would need specifics! Fred would be delighted someone else is getting the use of these – how nice folk are so appreciative of them!

It’s good that you let the Hugos go – and what a fine way to do it.

November 20, 2012

I agree that Fred would love that a deserving person got his Hugos.

November 20, 2012

🙂 – – – –

November 21, 2012

one of the hardest things i had to do was tell people who called for raymond that he had died. i still get mail for him… it’s all junk mail. i hope you are able to find a place for you in north carolina when you go visit your son there. take care,

Oh, red beans and rice. That sounds good. Do you put it in the crockpot, or just make it on the stove? It is nice to help people out with things that they need, and that they are grateful to get it:)

November 21, 2012

Yikes! Christmas really is just around the corner isn’t it?

I love red beans and rice!