About Me

I was reading a favorite this morning and she wrote about her family and important things in her life. It was a sort of a "fill-in" for her readers and I found it interesting since I have been reading her for a while but didn’t know some of these things.

So, about me…

  • I am a retired teacher. I retired  from a rural school in Mississippi 14 years ago. By the time I retired, I was teaching children of the students I had taught in the seventh grade.
  • Until early this year, I lived for 14 years in Vermont with my dear partner, Fred. He died in May 2012. We originally got to know each other on line.
  • I am living in North Carolina now so that my younger son can check on me. I like to refer to this as "waiting on me hand and foot."
  • I was born in England and spent the first 30 years of my life there. I married an American whom I met there and came to the States.  We are now divorced but on speaking terms.
  • I have two sons who were born 21 years apart. My older son and his wife live in Mississippi. I chose not to move  there after Fred’s death because, {a} I had already lived there for about 30 years, and {b} although I have both relatives and friends there, I know at the age I am now I can’t deal with the horribly hot summers.
  • I have two grandsons and three great-grand children—two boys and a girl.
  • I had a sister who used to live in England. She had a son and a daughter. These are the only relatives I have there.
  • I am tall but not as tall as I used to be.
  • I still have an English accent.
  • I read a lot and I am slowly getting back to making art.
  • I seem to be spending a lot of time at various doctors’ offices these days but this is mostly because I have all new doctors since I moved.
  • For my age, I am relatively healthy. I have had cancer twice and have only one kidney because one of the cancers was renal cancer. At this time I am having intense sessions of physical therapy to strengthen my back and muscles in my left leg which are weak after having a hip replaced several years ago. I have hopes of eventually being able to walk without a cane.
  • On the whole, I am a cheerful and optimistic person.

Anything else you want to know? Just ask!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note

I am really surprised that you still have an English accent, especially after living in the south!!!! I am from Upstate NY and totally picked up that southern drawl! LOL Although, Elton has said that when I get on the phone with my mom and sister I pick the “yankee” back up. Hugs,M

June 10, 2013

I remember you traveled to Italy not long after your hip replacement and being full of admiration for you going off on your own. Inspirational! 🙂

June 10, 2013

I bet you have great stories. what art do you make?

Oh, and you are an avid reader! 🙂

June 10, 2013

I did not know about all of your “grands.” I had no idea there were that many, since you hardly ever talk about them. The rest I pretty much knew.

June 10, 2013

Great entry! Thanks for the fill-in.

June 10, 2013

Love this! I think everyone should do this once in a while for new readers. I didn’t know you were English. My paternal ancestors were from Shirk, Yorkshire. I would love to visit there. What part of England are you from?

June 10, 2013

I don’t think that I knew much about the grand & great-grands either. It’s quite amazing how you read someone for such a long time and there are still things you don’t know about them. Such a cool idea.

June 10, 2013

I knew much of this, but it’s always good to have a refresher. 🙂 You also like Sean Bean (so do I), and we read many of the same authors.

That was great getting to know you…I had no idea you were from England or had an accent! 🙂

I like the fillers — there’s always things we don’t know about one another. My son-in-law is from the UK,he’s been in the United States since 1997 (with frequent trips back to England). He still has an accent but it’s not as strong as when he first moved here. I remember I often had to ask him to repeat things because I didn’t quite understand what he said. I don’t think I’ve had to ask him to repeat anything in quite some time.

Good entry! I can think of things you could add to this because you are a very interesting person. What is that tasty treat you like to spread on your cold toast? Oh yes…Marmite. And you love Steely Dan music.

June 10, 2013

I began reading you (even though I’m not a great noter, I am a faithful reader) just before Fred died. I learned a lot just now! How old are your sons? That’s an uncommon age difference!

June 10, 2013

So very nice getting to know more about you.

June 10, 2013

ryn: Had you known then that Hitler was a vegetarian, you’d have caught them in their lie! I’ve always thought his eating habits were the cause of the problem. If I was a vegetarian, I’d want to kill people too. Have you seen the hares in Scotland? They are huge, and make amazing eating.

BJ.
June 10, 2013

This was interesting, even though I knew most of it I had wondered why you were back in physical therapy. I knew about your hip surgery but missed a lot of entries on OD while in Australia and after being home. I hope you can get your improved mobility back soon. I don’t remember knowing that the reason you moved to the states as a result of marrying an American. One thing for sure I didn’t knowis that your sons are 21 years apart in age. Mine are 15 months apart :). I have felt so bad for you that the water in your apartment caused you to just clean and arrange things all over again after you had just gotten that accomplished. I knew that was going to be the result after they finally got the carpet etc dry. I hope that misery is about over so you can just sit and enjoy you clean apartment.

June 10, 2013

(huggles)

June 10, 2013

I didn’t realise you had grandchildren and great-grandchildren either!

June 10, 2013

Good info here. I admire your spirit!

June 11, 2013

Nice to have a review. Great-grandchildren were a surprise.

June 11, 2013

I learned a lot about you that I did not know. Loved this entry

June 11, 2013

I learned things about you! 🙂 *HUGS*

June 11, 2013

I can’t imagine having kids 21 years apart.. You know, it was you who actually inspired me to get into photography. I was so impressed with your photography and the fun you had when you were taking the photoshop class years ago. Oh Fred… what a great man he was! He gave me such support with things… and had so much outrage over the things my dad did. I always felt protected by him, even though it was just online.. I’m glad the two of you found each other

June 13, 2013

I’ve been reading your diary fairly regularly over the years and I didn’t know many of these things.

June 13, 2013