And on Friday…

  • This morning I was hand-washing my really good, very sharp {and expensive} large knife and I cut the index finger on my right hand. I was watching "Chopped" last night and one of the competitors cut his finger in the same way as I did! As I was watching, I wondered how he could do that, but now I know– not paying attention! It is a good job that the sight of blood doesn’t affect me since there was a lot of blood!
  • The guy who is putting up the fan in the ceiling in the bedroom just turned up with a neat little two-step ladder under his arm. He is also going to put a new sprayer in the bathroom and a gadget that is not a chain on the door whereby I can open it a bit to see who is there. I do have a peephole which I often forget to look through… I will enjoy having a ceiling fan in the bedroom. Right now I have an oscillating fan running at night.
  • This apartment is very well insulated. I am keeping the air conditioner set on 75 and the ceiling fan in the living room running on low all day and I am comfortably cool. The insulation also means that I hear very little from the woman who lives above me. I hear her walking up the metal stairs outside to get to her apartment and occasionally I can faintly hear her dishwasher or washing machine running but there is very little noise.
  • Starting on Monday, I now drop down from twice a week to physical therapy once a week for four weeks and then I am through. Well, except for what I will do by myself. And I definitely WILL do it because I can see and feel the improvement. The physical therapist, Jill, has given me lots of hand-outs and she has written little notes all over them which I find very helpful. She told me to do the exercises every second day which is what I am doing anyway. I am also going to walk on the day I don’t do the exercises. She told me not to try for as much as I do with her, time-wise, that is. By myself I am now doing ten minutes a day which is working well.

Things to do today:

  1. Empty the dishwasher and put the dishes away.
  2. Continue with putting the DVDs in the same area. Right now they are off the floor but just shoved into a couple of bookshelves along with books.
  3. Water the plants.
  4. Go for a short walk. {I will do that this evening since it is too hot right now.}

I am pleased that I have enough energy to do even this short list!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 19, 2013

Glad everything seems to be going well for you. Why do we think we have to DO DO DO all day????

You continue to inspire me to do moe. Ten minutes exercise at a time sounds manageable. Sorry about cutting your finger!

July 19, 2013

You’re going to love that ceiling fan. And ouch! I’ve gotten a few scars on my hands from the exact same thing.

July 19, 2013

Ceiling fans are so nice to have. Glad your PT is helping! Ouch! I’ve done that myself with a knife. Several times actually. LOL But then again, sometimes I can be a little clutzy. Hugs,M

July 19, 2013

Ouch! Makes me cringe just thinking about that cut! Keep up the good work on those exercises!

July 19, 2013

i emptied the dishwasher and put away the dishes. i also watered my plants. can’t take a walk except in the house but, will soon as i can walk again. you sound like you are doing quite well. i LOVE my ceiling fans. i have 3 of them and would love one in the family room but raymond never got around to installing it so i gave it to blake for his room. take care,

July 19, 2013

i emptied the dishwasher and put away the dishes. i also watered my plants. can’t take a walk except in the house but, will soon as i can walk again. you sound like you are doing quite well. i LOVE my ceiling fans. i have 3 of them and would love one in the family room but raymond never got around to installing it so i gave it to blake for his room. take care,

July 19, 2013

I used to have a ceiling fan in the bedroom of my house before this one. There is no way to put one in here & I really miss it. There is something very pleasant about the movement of air when you’re sleeping.

July 20, 2013

I truly enjoy ceiling fans, but with barely 7ft ceilings in the current homestead, we can’t really enjoy one.

July 20, 2013

I ran a knife clean through my finger one Thanksgiving. The ER doctor was Vietnamese and didn’t believe in using anything to deaden when he put in stitches. Ouch! Hope yours heals well and you don’t have too much pain with it.