Mostly about Physical Therapy

I went to my first physical therapy meeting yesterday. Since I have done this before, I was not at all surprised by what she asked me to do although I was oddly pleased with myself when I could bend over and touch the floor with my fingertips. However, I used to be able to put my hands flat on the floor when I bent over! I have been thinking about my last session of physical therapy and the fact that at one point the therapist said "I think this is as good as you are going to get." I didn’t realize until now that I gave up at that point. This time I have decided that I am going to be constantly working towards my main goal of being able to walk without pain. I wouldn’t say no to being able to walk without a cane, but the cane is not an obstacle to walking—the pain in my back is. So, I am putting out here in front of that part of OD who reads what I write that I am NOT going to be giving up. I may falter along the way since I am only human, but I promise you, but especially I promise myself that I AM going to be walking again.

I am also becoming less apprehensive about all the driving I am having to do. I am still grossly over-estimating the time it will take me to get to a new place but that is not a bad fault. Yesterday I was there 45 minutes early but I knew there would be a huge amount of paperwork to do since this was my first time and it turned out that I only had 15 minutes with my Kindle after I had finished the paperwork. Oh, and another thing I am pleased about is that I asked the lady behind the desk if she would mind muting or lowering the volume of the television. And she did it. I was the only person in the waiting room since by that time the one other person had gone into the therapy room, but I was all prepared to ask the other person if she would mind if I asked to have the volume reduced.

Now, since I am writing about driving places, I am putting on record that there is a part of the trip to the grocery store where the GPS actually LIES to me! It tells me to turn right and when I do, it does the "recalculating" routine! I mentioned this to Jake last night and he said that there had been a bit added onto that road so I needed to upgrade the GPS whereupon, one hopes, it would stop telling me lies! The last time I went to the store I remembered the bit where it lied so instead of turning right, I turned left. There was an ominous silence from the GPS but when I got to the traffic light, it told me to turn right which was the correct way to go!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 10, 2013

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaay for not giving up! I’m not sure how I feel about a doctor telling a patient “you are about as good as you are going to get.” I don’t think I like it!! And good for you for becoming bolder about all the new driving. I admire you so much for the way you take life by the horns. It is the way I want to always be, no matter how old I’m fortunate enough to become. :o) !! Thanks for being an awesome friend and role model. hugs, Nicky

May 10, 2013

I can just imagine the woman in the GPS sitting there going “S**t – she knows!” Good to hear that strong spirit shining through!

May 10, 2013

I am so glad to hear that you intend to keep walking. Personally, I hate it when a doctor tells me that something is as good as it is going to get. That’s so freaking defeatist. And I confess to laughing over your GPS. I can imagine it speaking in that correct tone of voice, you must turn —-.

May 10, 2013

I felt very depressed when I had to give up PT because my walking was as good as it was going to get, and I’d hoped for so much more… but my therapist reminded me just how far I’d already come from when I started. (huggles)

May 10, 2013

You really have to give yourself a lot of credit for going out of your comfort zone! You have adjusted very well.

May 10, 2013

You really have to give yourself a lot of credit for going out of your comfort zone! You have adjusted very well.