Mostly Physical Therapy

I had a great day yesterday in terms of being able to stand and walk with minimal use of the cane. I also had energy and got things done. I was hoping that today would be the same, but alas, not so. I didn’t feel ill, just next-to-no energy. It may possibly have to do with the fact I seem to be in one of my I-can’t-sleep-all-the-way-through-the-night episodes. I fall asleep about 11 pm and sleep to around 3 am. Then I toss and turn for a couple of hours and then sleep a couple of hours. Actually, I don’t really toss and turn. I more usually read for a couple of hours which, in itself can be a problem if the book is one that makes me page-flip because it is so good I want to know what comes next. Anyway, I don’t worry about these poor-sleeping episodes. It will pass as it has before and I will be back to being able to sleep through the night again.

Today I went to physical therapy which was odd because I usually go Tuesdays and Thursdays. I am getting a lot out of physical therapy this time because I am being very conscientious about doing my "homework." I told Jill today that I was doing quite well in doing 10 minutes or so in the morning and in the afternoon. I also tell myself that I MUST do PT at least three times a week. This is the minimum, though. I have more usually been doing "homework" four to five days a week. Jill is very encouraging and seems pleased that I have a schedule. "Such as it is!" I told her. To which she replied that schedules set up at home by the client are mostly more effective that schedules set up by the physical therapist! Tomorrow I am going to get a notebook and keep a record of what I do per week. This worked very well for me when I was riding a bike regularly.

What I really have to get a handle on is the fact that on most days after therapy, I need to take a nap. This would be a Good Thing if it were just a nap. It tends to be a sleep of a couple of hours! I know what works. If I set an alarm for 90 minutes and MAKE myself get up I do much better. Of course, the best thing would be to not take the "nap" at all but on some days, like today, I really have to. Almost all this physical therapy is what I call "walk AND chew gum" in which I not only have to move part of me in a certain way  but be sure I am actually moving the right muscles!

I am still loving my wireless earphones. Right now I am listening to bits of Gilbert and Sullivan operettas… "I have a song to sing, O!"

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 24, 2013

I admire your resolve and dedication!

It’s great that you have a plan. I need a plan!

June 24, 2013

(huggles)

June 25, 2013

you are doing so well and are so dedicated to doing your p/t. i have p/t monday/wednesday and the rest of the week i do it on my own. on mon/wed i am so tired that about all i can do is sit and rest and if i fall asleep, well, that’s okay. take care,

Keeping a schedule is a great thing…keep up the good work!