Some questions answered

Several questions were asked about me still having an English accent even after all the years I have been here in the States. Well, I have it still because I have made an effort to keep it. Since I was an English teacher, it was an asset in my job. I like my accent! That doesn’t mean that I dislike the southern accent. My two sons have lovely accents, I think.

OK, what kind of art do I make… I started by doing realistic work, especially portraits. Realism is "safe" for me. I have only to look carefully and draw or paint what I see {not what I think I see} to do something that is recognizable. What I had been doing right up to the time Fred got so ill {which is when I stopped all art} is abstracts. I was first encouraged to do these in a pastel class at the Community College in the part of Vermont where I was living. The instructor was not only teaching technique but actively pushing us to do things we thought difficult. The realism workers were encouraged to be as abstract as we could and the abstract people were encouraged to be realistic. I don’t know about the others, but for me I found if I "listened " {for want of a better word} to what I was painting. it almost told me what it needed. I will see if I can find some links to both realistic and abstract art… OK, this link should take you to my Pastels 2 portfolio. It is mostly realistic, I am afraid. I have several abstract paintings I am going to hang in my apartment. I will take pictures of them.

What part of England am I from? I was born in Nottingham {home of the Sheriff of…}which is almost exactly right in the middle of the country hence I was born in the Midlands.  I left there to go to college in Liverpool {up north!} when I was 18. I moved around a lot all over England after college because I really wasn’t sure what I wanted to teach. My majors in college were art and English literature. I soon learned that art teachers were not in great demand so I concentrated on English.

Ok, Marmite! You either love it or hate it! I love it. Fred hated it! I would say one has to have been exposed to it from childhood except my sister and I didn’t have it until we were teenagers.  My older son loves it. My younger son hates it!

My sons are 21 years apart in age–well, if we are being strictly accurate, it is actually 20 years and 51 weeks… Although they have different fathers, they actually look very much alike except the younger one is taller than the older one. If I didn’t write their names on their baby pictures I would have no idea which kid it was! The older one was born in 1956 and the younger one in 1977. They have both grown up to be very nice people. Not only do I love them, I am happy to say I also like them!

Why am I back in physical therapy such a long time after the surgery? Well, I have just turned 79 and there is only one year before I am 80. Fred started letting himself go downhill when he was about my age and he died when he was 86. His health was a lot worse at this age than mine is now because he had been an insulin-dependent diabetic since he was 50. He was very good at checking his numbers but no matter how careful one is, diabetes damages the body. Now, I am not foolish enough to think that because I do not have diabetes, I will live forever. I have already had two different cancers. I am aware that I no longer have the energy to do what I used to do, but I have decided that I want to enjoy myself as much as I can in these last years. And the first step is to get my hip and back in the best shape I can. So, physical therapy which is definitely helping. The last time I had PT, {about six years ago} I did not do the work after the classes were over. This time, I will continue. I am already seeing improvement and I am well aware what will happen if I stop.

Anything else?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 11, 2013

I loved learning more about you and especially viewing your very interesting paintings. Thank you. Having children 21 years apart probably kept you younger than those of us who had ours in a four year span, as I did. I forget…did you mention if they were close friends in adulthood. I imagine they are. I am wishing you much luck in your new apt. and this new part of your life. Having interests in literature and in arts makes good company for this part of our lives, I find.

June 11, 2013

Thank you for the link to your art! Very nice work. I also like to do portraits 🙂 *HUGS*

One of these days I would like to taste Marmite. Thank you for the additional info, Patricia.

June 11, 2013

I love reading about your art. Really looking forward to seeing what you come up with next. Oh — one of my favourite authors lives in Nottingham!

June 11, 2013

I had fun perusing your photo albums. I didn’t realize that you had been on a cruise…must have been before I met you. And even though you might have mentioned it, I don’t remember that your sons had different fathers. Were you married more than once? How did you meet your husband in England?

June 11, 2013

I’m glad you chose to keep your British accent! We were once friends with a military wife from England whose husband was from Texas. I was surprised to find out she was from England, because she had no trace of British accent! I remember thinking what a shame that was! hugs, Nicky

June 11, 2013

I love your pastels. Especially the eyes. I have always loved pastels and been intrigues by eyes.

i LOVE your portfolio.

June 11, 2013

I have never tasted Marmite. Will have to one day. I wonder why people have such a strong reaction one way or the other. Have to start painting again. I really miss it.

June 11, 2013

I think if you move to a different area when you are an adult, you never lose your accent. Marmite – uggh.

June 12, 2013

It’s still funny to me that you didn’t lose your accent. I didn’t want to lose my northern accent and gain a southern one either but I did. LOL LOVE your eye studies, especially the one of the owl! Beautiful!! Hugs,M

June 12, 2013

i have always loved your artwork. an english accent is my 2nd favorite accent. my favoite… a southern accent. when i go back to florida and am around my family, my southern sneaks out. i don’t try not to speak that way normally, but, it’s not as pronounced as when i’m not in florida. but, people can tell i’m not from new england. take care,

June 12, 2013

Can I ask you a question. Was fred otter your husband? Not sure why I am asking that but I just had a feeling when I read about Fred in your entry. And- my last child and his brother were 17 years a part. close. xxx

June 12, 2013

Fred otter talked about his wife having a diary and that was why he decided to join.

June 13, 2013

I remember when you were doing the pastels and posting the images here. I encourage you to share your new work as well.

June 13, 2013

btw, I prefer realistic art.

RYN: Yep, sounds like you have allergies! It’s pretty miserable…especially here right now, because we have had a lot of wind lately.

June 13, 2013

I’m still in awe of you after all these years!

My parents both still have their accents. I just cannot hear it because to me that is just what they sound like. I hate Marmite. My parents love it. LOL! I was born in London, England but I have not been back since I was three years old.

I like Marmite but I don’t buy it very often now. I get through it too quickly if I do because I like to spread it pretty thickly. 🙂

June 19, 2013

Are the boys close to each other?