The Penultimate Appointment**

Jake and I went to the penultimate appointment today, the last one before the surgery. It was very well organized. We were whisked from the front waiting area to a guy who typed everything there is possible to know about my medical condition into a computer. It seems to me that they were very well set up to avoid mistakes. For example, the ubiquitous plastic band bracelet one wears on the wrist was handed over to me to check that the spelling of my name and my date of birth were both correct. I have in the past just been handed a bracelet and no one has bothered about the spelling, including me.

Next we went to a cubical where a nurse checked yet again and more questions were asked. Oh, and that is where I found out that the surgery will be one where they go in to my body with a small cut and what the doctor does is watched on a screen. Laparoscopy?  {I can’t say the word never mind spell it and the spell checker offered me "leprosy"!} I was thinking that it would have to be a big incision since the doctor intends to cut out two different sections of my bowel but no. I had also been thinking that I would request rehab since I remember how much I couldn’t do after my left hip was replaced. I could dress myself but Fred had to put my socks on for me! He also helped me to the bathroom and cooked for me. The nurse said this time I would be amazed how quickly I would recover and how quickly I could look after myself…

Finally we saw the anesthesiologist who explained to me what would be happening to me in great detail. He assured me that I would be given something to help alleviate nausea which I always have after an anesthetic. Although I actually never threw up, I always felt as if I was going to but apparently not this time. He said the only discomfort I might have is after the tube down my throat was removed once I came round. Oh, and the surgery was scheduled for 5 hours. On the whole, I was reassured by all this well-organized competence. I have already met the surgeon and not only did I like him but he talked as if he know what he was doing!

So, surgery on the 20th. We have to be there at 5:15 AM and surgery is scheduled for 7:15 AM.

If you are distressed by anything external, the pain is not due to the thing itself, but to your estimate of it; and this you have the power to revoke at any moment. — Marcus Aurelius

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 7, 2014

prayers for you, your sons and your surgeon. i do hope you are up and on your feet again really quick. my father used to have handkerchiefs all the time. mother had to iron them and if they weren’t ironed just right, he got mad at mother. if it had been me, i would have told him to do them himself if he didn’t like the way i did it. take care,

January 7, 2014

They’ve made such amazing advances in surgery. The smaller the incision, the quicker the recovery and lower risk of infections and complications. One of my clients had a rotator cuff surgery that had a scar less than 1/2″ on her shoulder. 10-15 years ago, it would have left a big old scar at least 3-4″ long. Sounds like they are very competent. Less than two weeks to go!

Great that they can do laparoscopic surgery. That’s so much less trama, although doctors do tend to kinda skip over the part where blowing up your skin like a balloon leaves bruises that last about a month – or maybe it’s just that I bruise easily. Anyway, it’s just soreness like, well, like a bruise, not agony. Also great that you like the surgeon and feel the hospital is efficient. Istime seeming to drag, or to fly by?

I’m glad it will be laproscopic — the nurse is right, it should make for a much easier recovery. After my shoulder surgery I had anti-nausea meds, it was something you put under your tongue. Wow did that stuff knock me out! Best of luck with your surgery.

January 7, 2014

Yes, about the laparoscopic surgery–I’m so glad. I’ll be thinking of you!

January 7, 2014

So glad they are being so thorough. That seems to indicate that they take pride in their work and are very competent.

January 8, 2014

(hugs and prayers)

I’m glad the appointment went wellÂ…and that you will be having laproscopic surgeryÂ…the recovery time is def much better. It’s amazing what they can do now! Will be sending prayers to you.

January 8, 2014

It all sounds like it’s going to be a snap! and I like that everyone involved seems so competent. Now for the 20th to just hurry up and get here! :o) !! hugs, Nicky

January 8, 2014

Good luck with your surgery. And I’m glad you don’t have leoprosy. 😛

January 9, 2014
January 10, 2014

Here’s to all going as smoothly as today’s appointment! I’ve had a couple of laparoscopic surgeries. I had my gall bladder out Monday, back to work on Friday. A little discomfort but no horrible pain, and healing went quickly. I hope the same for you, and a good outcome as well.