What I Learned

I learned this today. I haven’t tried it yet, but I will.

Fear not for the future, weep not for the past

Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) English Poet

 

Anything that’s human is mentionable, and anything that is mentionable can be more manageable. When we can talk about our feelings, they become less overwhelming, less upsetting, and less scary. The people we trust with that important talk can help us know that we are not alone. ~Fred Rogers (Mr. Roger

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
November 18, 2012

RANDOM NOTER: That’s a pretty neat trick that I will have to try out! Thanks for posting!

BJ.
November 18, 2012

I have seen that technique before but I don’t make mashed potatoes or potato salad any more so I don’t need to peel potatoes. Wish I had known that all those times I peeled potatoes which was almost every day when the boys were growing up and Jimmy was here. We had mashed potatoes every day, I planned my meal starting with potatoes just b/c I love potatoes. Now I bake them in the microwave b/cI love baked potatoes. Just had one a few nights ago.

My mother did potatoes that way for potato salad. It’s not quite that easy though. Did you notice that her potato was perfectly shaped with no cuts, dips or knobs? I haven’t found many like that. 🙂 Still, I works reasonably well.

November 18, 2012

I’d cut the bad bits off before boiling, but we used to do it all the time with red potatoes. I never tried it with regular spuds. I don’t know why. I think red ones must work better.

oooo I will have to try this when I make 10 pounds of mashed potatoes on Wednesday! I was not looking forward to peeling THAT many.

What a great link! Thank you 🙂

November 19, 2012

i usually use the baby red potatoes and leave the skin on but the next time i use that kind of potato i will use that method of peeling them. take care,

November 19, 2012

My mother also did this for potato salad. Wow! That made me hungry. I think I’ll put a potato on to boil!

November 19, 2012

I found that on Pintrest and found it pretty amazing. Not sure when I’ll have potatoes again, but I’ll be ready for it this time.