Yesterday

When all my stuff was brought back after the flood, some of it was in a big white cooler. Well, yesterday I finally emptied the cooler and Jake put it outside for me. There was also a jacket which didn’t belong to me so that went in the cooler too. I just called the office and asked for it to be picked up. Even though it was empty, I didn’t want to keep it in the apartment since I have enough clutter of my own! Talking about clutter, I actually didn’t put all the "stuff" away properly but just put it on any empty shelf I could find. I will eventually have to find a proper place for this "stuff." I just wanted to get that cooler out of my apartment! So far, I have found my land-line telephone and have set up the auxiliary ones. I have as yet not found  all the parts of a very small lamp I leave on at night as a night light. I have the shade and the light bulb but no lamp!

Yesterday I went to to Raleigh to the hospital for aqua therapy. I found a place to park and remembered to have my ticket validated; thus it cost me nothing for  parking. P., the therapist, told me there are handicapped parking places right in front of the hospital which are free. Next time I go, I will try to find them. I still hate driving there and when I arrive I am shaky with all the adrenaline in my system but at least I haven’t looked so bad that P. felt she had to take my blood pressure as she did the first time! When I got home I lay down on the bed to read –since that calms me down– and woke up three hours later! To my surprise, last night I slept very well and this morning I do not feel stiff or sore. I do feel lethargic, however, so today I won’t get much done. In fact, after having my bowl of cereal and finishing this entry, I am pretty sure I will go back to bed to read and nap! The next physical therapy is on Thursday and it is much closer to where I live.

Yesterday Jake came after work to help me with a few things I couldn’t manage myself. He put the cooler outside and carried trash bags to dump when he left. I have been dumping them myself lately but this time there were also a large collection of boxes which had let pile up until they had gotten too heavy for me to take! I think I have mentioned that I have gone back to recycling? It is not mandatory here as it is in Vermont, but for those who wish to do it, there is a dumpster for both kinds of trash. Having done it for 14 years in Vermont, I feel better doing it now although it does take a small amount of extra time to bag up.

  Ok, save this and then off to bed to read and nap for an hour of two…

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 4, 2013

Napping is a wonderful thing. It does help quite a bit when I’ve had a bad night sleeping. Glad to hear that things are getting back to normal for you (somewhat) and that you are back in your own nest.

June 4, 2013

Aqua therapy sounds like something that I would like to try.

June 4, 2013

I love recycling now that the garbage collection system has made it easier. We have two wheelie-bins; one for trash and one for recycling. We don’t even have to separate plastic from paper and metal. Even then, my husband is too lazy/passive-aggressive to do it right. I’m constantly having to fish non-recyclables out of the bin and put it in the trash.

June 4, 2013

Well done for getting to the acqua therapy even though the journey is still not as comfortable as you’d like! Did you feel the benefit of the therapy itself?

June 4, 2013

I admire you for driving to the aquatherapy place even though it is scary for you. I am sure I would end up taking a taxi or something!! :oO !! Aren’t naps wonderful? I napped for more than two hours today!! hugs, Nicky

June 4, 2013
June 4, 2013

i would feel weird not recycling. been doing it for 15 years. i’ve been napping lately cause i seem to be unable to sleep at night any more. i’m thinking water therapy would be a good thing for my knee when i can bend it. but, there’s no where around to do it. besides, i have 5 weeks and 1 day to wait to bend my knee. take care,

June 5, 2013

ryn: it’s kinda like an amplified antenna. it allows me to pick up my daughter’s wireless internet. i guess it would allow me to pick up anyone’s unpassword protected wireless if i were to wander out and about to use my laptop without paying for it. anyway, on the front of it it says amped/wireless. maybe you can find it online. i don’t know yet but i will have to look for one on amazon cause i want my own. take care,

Ah, a nap sounds terrific! I think if everyone took a nap every day, the world would be a much happier place! 😉 RYN: Looking back now, it really was funny to look down the sidewalk and see this teeny tiny little thing in just a diaper and hearing the pitter-patter of little feet all over the sidewalk as she took off! The sad part is that she was almost faster than *I* was, haha! 🙂

I wish we had recycling here. I think they do right in the city but we are just on the very edge and therefore we don’t. 🙁 How far are you from the town of Sanford? We lived there for a yr. when were first married. Loved it there. Hugs,M