51 and a 42 update

The last entry I posted, about my new muse, was the 50th entry I had posted since returning to Open Diary. I’ve been writing since mid-October of last year, so 51 entries (including this one) is not a bad number for four and a half months.

It was a honor to be selected to be a beta tester, and the fact that I was invited less than a week before my birthday also brightened my mood for what is usually a very brooding moment of the year. I was just happy to be back, as blogging just wasn’t the same since leaving OD four years ago.

While the site isn’t perfect, as I’m still waiting for all notes, the politics circle, and the ability to at least change the background color… I prefer to look at my glass as three quarters full. The site is back, it’s working very well (knock on wood), and I’ve blogged more in the last four months than the previous two years combined. Not perfect, but pretty damn good.

So far my 42nd year of life has been pretty bitchin’ so far. Two tattoos, a trip to chill with Dad in Florida, my 12th Nano in a row finished, and now I’m hitting Florida again in 3 weeks to see my first Maple Leaf game and my first Blue Jay spring training game. I want to take Ethan out to two killer concerts coming to Toronto later in the year, one of them he will remember for a very long time.

I tried to talk my dad into going on a road trip when he comes back to Ontario in the summer, but so far he’s resisted. One of the things on my 42 year idea hit list is to take a road trip to a small baseball field in Iowa where my favorite movie was filmed thirty years ago. My Dad is a big fan of Field of Dreams too, but thus far my attempts to talk him into it have failed thus far. I even tried to twist his arm by saying we’d crash in Chicago and catch a Cubs game too at Wrigley. No dice so far…

Another thing I’m considering to end year 42 is a trip to Las Vegas. The reason I’m only considering it is because I’m tempted to save month for another trip instead. I have the boys for Xmas this year, and I’m tempted to take both boys to Florida for the holiday. That might be a tad expensive, but I know my boys would really enjoy spending Xmas at Disney World. But if that plan falls apart, which is possible cause I don’t know if Dad has plans for the holiday already… Vegas to end 42 is my back up plan. Do a bit of gambling, eat at some killer places, and checking out some shows like Penn & Teller or even check out an NHL game if my Leafs are in town. I’m confident that would be an amazing way to finish what is being an amazing year so far.

In the meantime, the only thing I got planned for the next few weeks is writing, writing and did I mention writing? All this stuff I want to plan has to be paid for so I have to get back on track and kick ass.

So I’m going back to work. You guys take care and I’ll be around.

Peter

 

Log in to write a note
February 28, 2018

Fifty entries (well 51) is awesome! Thanks for being here!

February 28, 2018

Awesome I’m so glad that people are starting to return!

March 1, 2018

Wonderful that your 42nd year is off to a great success. Your future plans will definitely give you something to look forward to. I would imagine the anticipation of the trips will be just as much fun as the trips themselves.